RSS Feed

Herby

Posted on

My goal for yesterday was to use up some of the herb collection growing in my fridge from the CSA. First up, I made the rosemary and onion foccacia from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. The only difference I did with mine was that I used my half whole wheat version, which uses 2 cups whole wheat flour and 4 cups AP flour. I also used the fresh rosemary rather than dried.

HPIM3528I probably cooked my onions a bit too much but this came out really well. I loved it. I ate some as an afternoon snack yesterday and then I sliced it in half horizontally this morning and made an egg sandwich with it. Yum!

I also found a perfect recipe for dinner to use up all that green stuff in the fridge: Fresh Herb Risotto! I love the recipes for health from NYT. I think it’s fun they focus on a different food every week. In this risotto I used the rest of last week’s arugula, oregano, rosemary, basil and chives. Told you I was overrun with herbs!

HPIM3531This was very tasty, and light for a risotto – no butter and only a small amount of cheese. On the side, I threw in some roasted green beans. Brent is such a guy. He was like, “Umm. This whole meal is carbs. I need protein for my muscles.” Lame.

Now for a face only a mother could love:

HPIM3525He’s such a ham! His older sister is much more calm, cool and collected:

HPIM3527

So I still have a ton of herbs left. I’m thinking of just throwing them all into a multi-herb pesto and freezing it, but let me know if you have a better idea! I’m very open to suggestions.

7 responses »

  1. You’re such a good cook. That artisan bread looks so good, and I hate onions generally πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. That bread sounds AWESOME! I may have to give it a shot!

    Awww the puppies!! They’re so cute!

    Reply
  3. I agree with Brent…where’s the protein lolol (but it all does look VERY good)

    Reply
  4. When your garden’s in full bloom, whip up this fresh, flavorful sauce. Great as a vegetable dip, sandwich spread or condiment for grilled meat, chicken or fish.

    Ingredients
    1 bunch(es) watercress, tough stems removed, coarsely chopped (about 2 cups)
    3 tbsp parsley, fresh, leaves
    1 medium scallion(s), chopped (about 2 Tbsp)
    3 tbsp basil, fresh, leaves
    1/2 cup(s) plain fat-free yogurt, Greek-style recommended
    1/2 tsp table salt
    Instructions

    * In bowl of a blender or food processor, place all ingredients and pulse until well combined. Pour into a bowl or plastic container and refrigerate until ready to use. Yields about 1/4 cup of sauce per serving.

    Notes

    * This sauce will keep for up to 3 days, covered, in the refrigerator.

    You can substitute any fresh herb for either the parsley or the basil. And consider swapping spinach for the watercress for a milder flavor. Or for a peppery flavor, use arugula instead of the watercress.

    This was the weightwatchers recipe of the day… maybe it will help you with all of your herbs. I thought it sounded tasty πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. oh my gosh puppies so cute!

    Reply
  6. that focaccia looks amazing! I love fresh breads with tons of herbs.

    Reply
  7. I have been dying to make more bread and have just not been home enough! That looks great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

