RSS Feed

It’s All About the Marmalade

Posted on

Time for the second installment of Sandwich Week! Tonight’s selection was Roasted Turkey with Avocado, Bacon, Balsamic Onion Marmalade and Mayonnaise. This pick was Brent’s, and definitely proved that Colicchio does not take sandwich-making lightly. Though not one of the more super complicated recipes in the book, this one still required multiple time-consuming steps. We rounded out the meal with some sauteed squash.

HPIM3585The sandwich was very tasty, but I attribute 90% of that to the balsamic onion marmalade. In the description, Colicchio claims, “This sandwich is an ensemble piece, with no clear headliner.” No offense to Mr. Colicchio, but that is completely incorrect. The marmalade was a clear (and delicious) standout in this meal. It took a bit of time to make, about an hour, but the ingredients are onions, salt, pepper, a bit of sugar and balsamic vinegar and it was super easy to make. Now I need to find other uses for it!

For the bread, I made some ciabatta rolls out of the master recipe from Artisan Bread, subbing 2 cups whole wheat flour. I’m enjoying baking extra breads for this week! I have English muffins coming up for one sandwich, and I’ve never made those. Should be interesting. 🙂

6 responses »

  1. That sandwich looks amazing! I’m LOVING the idea of a balsamic onion marmalade. I used to order a wrap that had a sweet balsamic marinated portobella mushroom in it – heaven!

    Reply
  2. This sounds so so good! Balsamic onion marmalade? I could only read about making that and having it turn out WELL!

    Reply
  3. I think I might have most of these ingredients on hand. Will have to try it out…

    Reply
  4. That looks amazing. I’ve got to stop being so carb phobic and eat more sandwiches.

    Reply
  5. Oh my gosh this sandwich sounds amazing! Wow what a great combo of flavors. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

