RSS Feed

Sandwich Week

Posted on

Last week while we were at the library, Brent picked up ‘Wichcraft by Tom Colicchio. I’m in love with this book. Tom must have gotten a huge budget for publishing his book because every recipe has an accompanying full color drool-worthy photograph. Feeling so inspired, I decided this week would be “Sandwich Week” in our house and Brent and I poured through to find sandwiches that looked delicious, and that we could actually make on a week night.

Last night’s pick (which I meant to post about last night, but I fell asleep at 7:30!) was a grilled cheese. This was my pick, because I’ve loved grilled cheese for a long time and way back in the day, before I even knew how to “cook,” I always claimed to make the world’s best grilled cheese. Brent always rolled his eyes at this claim, but I have quite a few people who would agree with me on this.

Anyway, this was a grilled Gruyere with roasted onions on homemade rye bread. A bit fancier than my usual, but extremely delicious.

HPIM3578The onions were so sweet, and the cheese was so nutty and gooey and delicious. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The sandwich tasted even better when dipped into the Creamy Tomato Soup from Veganomicon.

HPIM3581The grilled cheese, in any version, still remains my most nostalgic food. It was the first meal I ever made, it was the one cooking skill I brought with me to college, and I’ll always love it.

What’s your favorite sandwich?

7 responses »

  1. I haven’t had a grilled cheese in forever! Or, as they’d call them in Western Pennsylvania – a toasted cheese!

    Reply
  2. I think grilled cheese might be my favorite sandwich ever, too — sharp cheddar, tomato, and sliced avocado, on good, wholegrain bread. MMMMMMM!!!!

    Reply
  3. tom colicchio is a favorite of mine!

    Reply
  4. Lucky you! I’ve been on my library’s waiting list FOREVER for that book. I cannot wait for it to come!

    Reply
  5. How perfect for you–sandwiches for your lovely bread.

    My favorite is peanut butter, banana, and honey.

    Reply
  6. Grilled Cheese in tomato or fresh mozz and tomatoes on crusty french bread.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

