RSS Feed

CSA Week 5 and a Sandwich

Posted on

Our CSA is really starting to beef up! We might even get eggplants and peppers next week! 🙂 Here’s this week’s haul:

HPIM3588

  • Lots of Lettuce
  • Kale
  • Chives
  • Parsley
  • Apple Mint
  • Peas
  • Garlic Scapes
  • Turnips
  • Jalapenos

We picked up our share an hour and half ago, and we’ve already made use of the turnips, some chives, and some of the garlic scapes. Our dinner tonight was another sandwich, the BLT. We did not follow Colicchio’s recipe exactly because I thought a quarter pound of bacon per sandwich was crazy. We used these delicious local, organic tomatoes from our local co-op. I also added some avocado to mine because I love it dearly. On the side I made some mashed potatoes and turnips with some sauteed scapes and chives thrown in. Overall, pretty delicious.

HPIM3593Tomorrow is our Friday! I love a three day weekend. I think we’re just going to hang out at home, and maybe grill out for the Fourth. Do you have any fun plans?

3 responses »

  1. No formal plans for the 4th. Friday I’m heading up to my boyfriend’s parents’ house to celebrate his birthday and Sunday I have a picnic with other foodies, but so far the 4th is wide open. If the weather is nice we may to and try to catch the fireworks.

    Reply
  2. That’s cool that it’s sectioned like that in bags. For some reason, I imagined it all coming (dirt and all) in a box.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

