RSS Feed

The View From The Roof

Posted on

I hope you all had a fun Fourth of July! Brent and I had a good time just hanging out at home. We made a delicious dinner on the grill. I had wild Sockeye salmon (Brent had a NY Strip steak), grilled herbed corn on the cob and a salad with a delicious Feta dressing.

HPIM3658The dressing was tasty on the salad but even better as a sauce for the salmon! I loved every bite of it and I want to eat it again very soon.ย  For the corn on the cob I mixed together some Earth Balance, chives, parsley and thyme and then peeled back the husks to apply the butter. I pulled the husks back up and they were grilled for about 15 minutes. The fresh corn is definitely not at it’s peak yet, but the herb butter is a treatment we’ll be repeating. ๐Ÿ™‚

After dinner and some XBoxing, we got ready for some fireworks. I climbed out of our bedroom window onto the roof of our house and settled in with blanket while Brent set off some bottle rockets and fountains below on the driveway.

HPIM3683From my tree top view I was able to see a lot of different shows going on, most of which I think were put on by some of our more enthusiastic neighbors. I couldn’t believe how huge some of these were, coming from someone’s backyard!

HPIM3699When the shows really got going, the dogs ran upstairs because they’re terrified of the fireworks. Lucy seemed ready to come onto the roof with me, but luckily Brent was able to calm her down.

HPIM3753Being on the roof did have its perils though. While Brent was out there with me, he forgot where he was for a moment and put his chips and dip down on the angled roof! I watched in horror as my cute bowl from Anthropologie slid down the shingles and shattered on the driveway. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

HPIM3743It was a wonderful long weekend, but it’s back to reality tomorrow morning so I’m going to read a bit more of my book and then head to bed.

5 responses »

  1. NOOOO!!!! The bowl is gone?! Maybe I’ll go get you another one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Oh no, that bowl was so pretty!

    Reply
  3. OH NO!! Sorry about the bowl ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Poor pupper – my dogs are afraid of the fireworks too! I always feel bad for them.

    Reply
  4. I love the idea for the dressing as a sauce for the salmon – you know, it’s like killing two birds with one stone – love it!

    Reply
  5. Looks like an awesome time, minus the broken bowl. My 4th was pretty low key. My boyfriend and I hung in and watched a movie with the dog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

