RSS Feed

Kale Ricotta Pizza

Posted on

Last night’s dinner was an idea I got from Amy at Eggs on Sunday. Pizza sounded like a delightful way to use up some of the kale we got from our CSA, and white pizza would be great because I had ricotta leftover from our sandwiches.

HPIM3764I sauteed the kale in olive oil along with some garlic scapes, thyme, parsley and chives, then layered that over some ricotta on the Artisan Bread dough. To finish it off, I sprinkled a bit of shredded Parm and Gruyere and baked for about 8 minutes. It came out as wonderfully as I had hoped. The crisp kale was a perfect contrast to the creamy mild ricotta. I love easy, delicious dinners on Sunday nights. 🙂

We’ve had so many great pizzas lately! I don’t think I could pick a favorite. What’s your favorite pizza combination?

14 responses »

  1. The pizza looks great! One of my favorite pizza combos was something I never thought would be good….fig & blue cheese. I love the sweet & savory combo 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ooh. I may have to steal this idea and do a variation of my own since I have pea greens and homemade fromage blanc. This makes me want to scrap my other meal plan and make this instead. Hmmmm…

    Reply
  3. This is great. I’m usually a big spinach on pizza person, but kale is a great alternative!

    Reply
  4. That pizza sounds really good!! I like that you used ricotta – never would have thought of that!

    Reply
  5. I love homemade pizza, too, and I seriously don’t think I could pick a favorite combo. I’m planning on a caprese style tonight!!!!! (Mmmmmmm tomatoes and basil!)

    P.S. Has this happened to you? Homemade pizza is in such high regard around my parts, we’re not “allowed” to go out for pizza any more. 🙂 High praise, definitely, but also kind of a bummer at the same time!

    Reply
    • We definitely have a similar problem going out for pizza. It usually ends up being such a disappointment that we don’t do it anymore.

      Reply
  6. Oh, that’s different! I love making pizza. I usually use Ezekial english muffins when I make mine – yum!!

    Reply
  7. Pesto, Portabellas, Mozzarella, and Feta.. I love it!!

    Reply
  8. what a great pizza! I made one with kale in the sauce and eggs on it a while back and it was amazing! I need to make it again.

    here’s the link:
    http://branappetit.wordpress.com/2009/02/20/bsi-try-2/

    Reply
  9. Seriously, every time I make pizza I’m like “this is the best combo ever!” I can never recreate them because they’re usually so random.

    Reply
  10. that sounds like a delish pizza!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Revisiting Old Favorite Dishes

  12. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

  13. Pingback: Green Pizza « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

