RSS Feed

Ellie Krieger’s Macaroni and 4 Cheeses

Posted on

Hey folks. It’s been a few days. I’m been busy getting ready for school, preparing for my last day at work (August 4th) and cooking a ton. My current focus has been preparing some extra meals that freeze well to use when school starts. I know myself, and even though I like to cook, I only like to do it when I’m “in the mood” to do it, and the mood rarely strikes after a long day that begins before 6am. I thought having a fully stocked freezer of meals able to just be thrown in the oven would help curb that desire to order pizza.

The meal I made Sunday night was one such meal. I made Macaroni and 4 Cheeses from Ellie Krieger. There seemed to be some debate in the reviews of this recipe whether it was macaroni and cheese with a healthy but unnoticed amount of squash, or whether it was macaroni and squash with a bit of cheese. Brent and I felt it was the former. Brent’s opinion, “Yeah, I don’t think I would know there was squash in here if you didn’t tell me.” I thought the amount of squash in the recipe was impressive considering how creamy and cheesy this tasted to me.

I bought several smaller foil pans with cardboard covers from the dollar store for my freezing endeavors. These were about 5×7″ and seemed perfect for 2-4 servings. This recipe made 8 servings and filled up three of these pans. I baked one, and cooled and froze the other 2. Each of these pans is about 3 servings.

HPIM3834I’m such a nerd. I get really excited about tackling new “projects” so I’m currently obsessed with planning, cooking and freezing. Plus, I just love feeling prepared. it helps me feel calmer when I’m anxious about something, like school. I’ve got these pasta dishes in there, 3 different kinds of soup and a few extra loaves of sandwich bread and banana bread.

I would definitely recommend the mac and cheese recipe. I don’t think these photos are doing it justice. It’s very rich and creamy, and a bit spicy from the monterey jack, although I added a bit more cayenne to the cheese sauce mixture as well.

HPIM3835In other news, tomorrow is my blog’s 1st anniversary. Unfortunately I don’t think I have anything exciting planned, certainly nothing as cool as this, but I’ll try to think of something fun.

9 responses »

  1. Wishing you an early happy blogiversary! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. Oh wow, how sweet are you? Thanks for that.

    Happy Blogiversary one day early! I’ve so enjoyed reading your blog over the past year. Keep on doing what you’re doing!

    Reply
  3. I love Ellie Krieger! When I’ve made macaroni and cheese w/ squash (butternut…), I’ve REALLY tasted it and not entirely liked that. I have to think of it as a different dish in order to enjoy – and then I’m fine. But maybe winter squash would taste a little less distinct?

    Reply
  4. I will have to bookmark that recipe for this fall, when squash are everywhere, cheap, and I need something new to try them with!

    Speaking of freezing, have you ever made homemade frozen pizza? Stretch out your dough, place on a cookie sheet, top, and freeze until very firm. You can then wrap the pizza in plastic wrap, or slip it in a huge ziploc bag. Bake from frozen just like a storebought pizza, and voila! Come to think of it, I think I should make a couple of those for my house. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. I love Ellie’s recipes and that one sounds fantastic!

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! Good luck preparing for school πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I have always disliked mac and cheese, but this recipe intrigues me. Also, I doubt that it compares to the nasty orange Kraft kind.

    Reply
  7. Happy early anniversary. I’m going to have to put that on my to make list. I have a feeling my opinion would be like yours of that dish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

