RSS Feed

Cheddar Corn Chowder

Posted on

We’ve been eating this chowder all week, so I can’t believe I’ve waited until now to tell you about it. Let’s get one thing straight. This is an Ina Garten recipe, definitely not for the faint of heart. That being said, I did what I could to make it something I felt comfortable eating for a few days in a row. I used 2% milk instead of half and half, halved the butter, and used a delicious 50% less fat Cabot cheddar for half of the cheese. The other half of the cheese was a jalapeno Monterrey Jack, which I highly recommend for the delicious spiciness it brought to this chowder.

HPIM3839The chowder was very good, but surprisingly less cheesy than I was expecting. I think I actually prefer the corn chowder from the Mayo Clinic, which is our go-to chowder recipe.One thing about Ina’s recipe is that it makes a ton! The recipe said 10-12 servings, so I made the whole thing assuming I might freeze a few extra portions. This recipe made like 26 cups of soup for me, and I reduced the amount of veggie stock used. I ended up freezing nearly half of that. 🙂 I’m sure I’ll appreciate that this fall. It’s a shame I made this before we got that good-looking corn from the CSA. Oh well, I’m sure it will still get put to good use.

Hope you all have a wonderful Friday and a great start to the weekend!

2 responses »

  1. That corn chowder recipe from Mayo Clinic is AMAZING! I’ve been dreaming about it lately.

    Reply
  2. I love Mayo Clinic’s recipe! However, Ina’s chowder looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

