RSS Feed

Roasted Ratatouille Pasta

This has been another busy week, but my first few exams are over, the house is officially on the market, and my weekend started 5 hours ago so I’m feeling pretty calm right now. I also actually cooked dinner. It’s a shame how unusual that’s becoming.

Tonight my main focus was using up the large quantity of vegetables my father in law brought over on Sunday. We had around 5lbs. of tomatoes, a few eggplants and some zucchini. I decided to oven roast everything and throw it on top of some pasta. The tomatoes went in first, quartered and drizzled with olive oil, garlic, rosemary, salt and pepper. They cooked at 350 for about an hour and a half. Next I threw in a pan of cubed zucchini and eggplant, again with olive oil, salt and pepper. I cooked that at 400 for 30 minutes, but during the last 10 minutes I also tossed in some sliced mushrooms I had in the fridge.

Once all of it was done roasting, I smashed up the tomatoes a bit and tossed with some cooked pasta. I sprinkled everything with some fresh basil and Parmesan.

IMG_0288I thought this was really good. The veggies probably didn’t even need any pasta, and it reminded me quite a bit of ratatouille (thus, the post title). I love meals made in the oven. This took 2 hours or so to prepare but all of it inactive so it was super simple. Thank goodness I used up those veggies because we brought home another bag full last night from our CSA. 🙂

Enjoy the holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

