RSS Feed

Culinary Pride

Today was one of my proudest days in my kitchen. I finally made my own sushi! Those who know me are aware of my alarming obsession with sushi. I can eat it until I’m stuffed, and then I’ll request it again the following day. I’ve gone out for sushi twice in twelve hours before. Like I said, it’s a little alarming.

Obviously making my own sushi is something that has occurred to me before. I even tried it once before, sometime last year. It did not go well. Our rice was more wet than sticky and it was generally a big flop. I love going out to our favorite Japanese restaurant, so I didn’t feel compelled to try again right away, but I finally figured it was time to try again this weekend. Thank goodness I did!

The sushi rice recipe I used was from Alton Brown. Whenever I have an issue with a specific recipe or technique, I usually try to find an AB recipe for it and try that. It worked wonderfully and once it cooled, I immediately began rolling. It took me a few rolls to get the hang of it, but once I did I went crazy! It was actually incredibly easy to make, once I got the rice correct.

I first made an avocado roll and a cucumber roll as my “practice” rolls. Unfortunately my camera wasn’t charged at that point, so no pictures. They weren’t very attractive anyway. Once I got my technique down, I made my dinner rolls.

IMG_0298So delicious! First, I made a simple California roll with imitation crab, avocado, carrot, and cucumber, with a bit of wasabi and sesame seeds wrapped up in there.

IMG_0303My other roll was a recreation of my favorite roll from Sushi Station. The Paradise Roll contains tempura shrimp, toasted coconut and avocado. Could there be a more perfect combination of ingredients? I don’t think so. This was a dead ringer for the one from the restaurant.

IMG_0301I was just so proud of myself, I couldn’t stop smiling. I can finally make sushi! I’m probably going to go on a sushi bender now. I want to make some for lunches. I think it’ll be a nice addition to the rotation.

Do you like sushi? What’s your favorite roll?

3 responses »

  1. I. LOVE. SUSHI. Me, you, sushi…next time you’re in town?

    Reply
  2. IMPECCABLE craftsmanship with the sushi!! Nice work!!

    Reply
  3. WELL DONE with the sushi! I was very apprehensive the first time I made some, but found it was easy, too! I love avocado and asparagus rolls the best . . . yum, yum, yum!

    P.S. Let me know if you ever want my recipe for brown sushi rice. It’s not quite as awesome as white sushi rice, but the healthy factor makes up for it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

