RSS Feed

Cookies Make Everything Better… except our laptop

Posted on

I’ve been making some new friends in nursing school, which of course is a good thing, but that inevitably leads to “sharing things” about yourself. And most people, including my own husband and family, think really “loving to cook from scratch and then writing a blog about the stuff you make” is a bit of an oddball hobby. I get that. I really do, which is why I always expect a healthy amount of skepticism in response. My new friends did not let me down. I’ve gotten quite a bit of “Really? That’s amazing. I could never do that,” and “How do you have the time to do all that?”

More recently, I’ve started receiving requests like, “So do you make banana bread?” and “Can you make some cookies for our study group on Saturday?” While driving myself crazy studying for two huge exams and psyching myself up for a half-marathon, I could think of no better distraction than making cookies for said study group. My friends in the study group were in favor of sugar cookies or snickerdoodles, and cinnamon always reminds me of fall so I went with snickerdoodles. I used this recipe and added an additional teaspoon of cinnamon to the dough itself.

IMG_0386These cookies were freakishly amazing. That, combined with the stress-eating brought about by my exams, was a dangerous combination. I gave as many away as possible… to classmates, neighbors, and of course the husband. Brent, who is normally not a cookie fan, seemed to love these.

The were crackled and crisp on the outside, but so chewy on the inside. I hate crumbly cookies, and greasy cookies, but these were just that perfect level of “these must have come from a real bakery” chewiness. I can’t wait to make them again, but this time I think I’ll try to freeze some of the dough. 🙂

Speaking of my husband, look what I just caught him doing:

IMG_0390Yes, that is Brent surrounded by parts of one of our laptops. The monitor has been awful and unviewable for quite some time now. The problem started when it was under warranty but Brent didn’t really care enough to take it in to get fixed. However, for some reason, after some of this…

IMG_0393

… he decided he would “investigate” the problem. Brent wanted me to inform you all that he can do this sort of thing because he’s “an embedded software engineer,” whatever that means.

The computer is now unusable and Brent is scheming ways to raise money to buy a new one. However, he “cleaned the kitchen” so I “can’t be mad at him.” This is the problem with my husband: He’s just smart enough to be dangerous.

4 responses »

  1. Attn blogosphere: never buy a bargain laptop. They’re more trouble than they’re worth.

    Reply
  2. Nice.. I love the embedded engineer comment…

    Reply
  3. That’s too funny. My boyfriend is a big geek (I say that in the most loving of ways) and builds all his own computers so when they don’t work he has only himself to blame.

    I’m usually pretty timid about telling people I have a food blog. There’s something very personal about the writing so I usually don’t bring it up, even though my boyfriend absolutely loves to.

    Reply
  4. Computer issues stink. Jesse and I recycled a few of our broken ones by taking them to Best Buy. If you decide to do the same, make sure the hard drive is taken out. Best Buy will charge you (how does that make sense?) if they have to do it. We didn’t know that when we got there. Needless to say, I still have my old HP laptop and HP desktop in the trunk of my car because of it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

