RSS Feed

Hello Blogworld, I’m Back! (for now)

Posted on

I don’t know about you all, but October has been absolutely insane for me. Although from the looks of things, I should probably adjust to the fact things are going to stay that way. We’ve finally started clinical practice in my nursing program, and that’s very exciting for me. It’s why I went to nursing school in the first place, but it’s also extremely terrifying the first time you actually have to work with a patient, or even more terrifying… the first time you have to give an injection!

So I’ve just been a big bundle of nerves, pounding away at school work every night and trying to keep my house respectable-looking for prospective buyers in the process. We’ve been eating as decently as I could have hoped, given my lack of time, energy and motivation for anything other than textbooks and studying. Unfortunately nothing we’ve eaten has been exciting, or even new. We’ve eaten frozen pasta dishes, frozen black bean burgers, the occasional homemade frozen burrito and become regulars at our new favorite pizza place.

However, tonight (after a marathon study session at the library) I made something new to us. With my brain as frazzled as it is, I’ve been relying more than ever on cooking magazines and RecipeZaar for recipe ideas. Tonight’s dinner came from the latter and involved one of my favorite foods: Cheese! I made Cheddar Cauliflower Gratin. I figured if all I wanted was cheese, I may as well hide some vegetables in there too!

I started off with a salad of the last bag of lettuce mix from our CSA (sniff, sniff) and added some cucumbers, carrots and grapes and some homemade red wine vinaigrette.

IMG_0415After that big bowl of veggies, I felt ready to indulge in some of the cheesy goodness about the come out of the oven! The gratin was extremely easy to make and took less than 45 minutes total.

IMG_0417Overall, I would say the gratin was a hit. Brent enjoyed it (with a little additional salt and black pepper) and of course I love anything melty and cheesy. I think I’ll definitely make it again, maybe double the batch and freeze some as well.

Now I’m enjoying some wine, planning next week’s menu and grocery list, and getting ready for a Law & Order marathon. I’m looking to try some new meal ideas. Is there anything you’ve had recently that falls into the super delicious and super quick to make category?

3 responses »

  1. I’m glad to hear you are well! (Busy, but well!) Do you have a Crock Pot? I’ve been making a lot of soups/chilis in there lately, which takes very little actual time on my part, and it’s been a lifesaver!

    Reply
  2. Lately I’ve been getting a lot of quick and easy recipes from Cooking Light. I also have a favorite enchilada recipe from Everday Food (or whatever the Martha Stewart magazine is) that calls for a spicy pumpin sauce. It sounds unusual but it is so good. Hang in there with the clinicals. I can totally understand the mixed feelings for being excited and scared at the same time. Now that I’m teaching for the first time I feel that way with every class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

