RSS Feed

Soup, Salad and Cupcakes

I promised myself I would cook more meals at home, and I’m definitely trying to keep my word. I’ve noticed my meals are getting a lot simpler now, but I’m actually appreciating them way more. My dinners for the past two nights have been quick, simple and super satisfying.

A few months ago I discovered that I love Greek salad, and have been making variations using the basic ingredients. I was craving a Greek salad when I was doing some grocery shopping this week so I added it to the menu for Monday night. It was delicious. I just used homemade red wine vinaigrette for the dressing, and I made a couple of artisan bread rolls for Brent and I because in my mind, a salad feels more like a “meal” if it has a piece of bread with it. 🙂

IMG_0448Tuesday night dinners are hard for me. I have clinical from 6:30-4:30, and when I finally arrive home I’m exhausted, kind of cranky, and STARVING. I was craving some comfort food (and red wine!) big time so I went with an old standby: tomato soup and grilled cheese.

For the soup I sautéed half a yellow onion, three cloves of garlic, salt, black pepper, thyme, marjoram, and red pepper flakes in a tablespoon of oil. When the onions were soft I added in a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and half a cup of veggie broth, brought to a boil and simmered about 15 minutes. At this point I tasted and noticed it was a bit acidic for my taste so I added a teaspoon of sugar, and simmered another 5 minutes. I transferred the soup to a blender and blended until smooth. While the soup was simmering, I baked some flat artisan bread, sliced it in half, added some swiss cheese to each piece and broiled until melty.

IMG_0457

This meal took half an hour to make and I cannot express how comforting it was to eat. I enjoyed every bite and then promptly passed out on the couch. Classy, I know.

One last thing I wanted to mention was that last night I made cupcakes to celebrate the birthday of one of my classmates. When I asked her what she wanted, all she requested was lots of chocolate. Always happy to comply, I made some basic chocolate cupcakes and chocolate buttercream from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. After working at clinical all day followed by a math/dosage competency, these were much appreciated at our post-conference today!

IMG_0454I’m off to work on a careplan! I can’t believe how quickly time is passing. I am in shock that Thanksgiving is pretty much two weeks away. Guess I better start planning that too!

3 responses »

  1. Ok, Victoria, I couldn’t help but post Dan’s comment while glancing over my shoulder while reading your post — imagine a cheesy announcer voice saying,

    “Oh my god, look at that frosting! It looks like poop! Snake poop . . . !”

    I hope that made you laugh! He doesn’t want you to hate him, so he wanted me to make sure that I told you that your cupcakes actually look really good. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I could die for one of those cupcakes!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

