RSS Feed

Date Night

Earlier this week Brent suggested we make Saturday night “date night” and he was going to cook for us. I was shocked because I didn’t realize date night was in his vocabulary, and I was also surprised Brent was willing to do something so nice, given my complete craziness as of late. Occasionally I catch myself acting crazy and realize how hard I must be to live with sometimes. Only 3 more weeks or so in the semester!

Anyway, back to dinner. Brent used our “fancy meals” cookbook to come up with some meal ideas. He decided on a “simple” soup and salad combo.

First up we had Frisee Salad with Baked Goat Cheese and Bacon. Goat cheese… on bread!! This salad course was all kinds of amazing. A wonderful pick by Brent. The man knows what I like.

The goat cheese was a necessary and delicious addition for cutting the tartness of the vinegary dressing. The bread was an artisan Bread dough baguette I made this morning. The only change Brent made to the recipe was to use canola oil in place of walnut oil because (his words), “walnut oil is balls expensive.” I support that decision. Salad was delicious regardless.

The second course was equally, if not more delicious. Brent and I tend to enjoy a lot of the same foods, but I think he’s more adventurous than I am when it comes to cooking. He often picks out recipes that I might not pick, assuming they may not turn out well if I made them at home. I’m glad he choose this Portuguese Clam and Chorizo Stew.

For the stew, Brent made a few substitutions. Fort Wayne isn’t a super foodie-friendly town, so we had to make due with what Brent could find:

  • In place of smoked chorizo, he used some type of Boar’s Head spicy Italian sausage with paprika in it.
  • He couldn’t find 4 dozen little neck clams, so he used half fresh clams, half canned clams.
  • In place of piquillo peppers, he used roasted red peppers with a pinch of cayenne pepper.

Everything was wonderful, and I greatly appreciated Brent’s suggestion for date night. Now we’re resting on the couch watching some Netflix movies.

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

3 responses »

  1. This sounds all kinds of amazing. I love when my boyfriend does similar things for me, it makes my day. I love walnut oil but I agree that it is tremendously expensive and on top of that, it goes rancid way too quickly.

    Reply
  2. What a wonderful husband Brent is!! Les has never made me dinner, except a wt.watchers TV dinner.
    LOL

    Reply
  3. Well done Brent! I think Dan owes me a “date night” pretty soon!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

