RSS Feed

Getting into the Holiday Spirit

I had my Med-Surg Nursing final this morning, and most people might assume I spent the weekend studiously reviewing, but that didn’t happen. Instead, I drove to Chicago and drank wine and baked cookies with the women of my family, as we do every year. I appreciate traditions like this so much more as an adult. I’ve realized not every family is as close as ours, and how lucky I am to have mine. Of course, when I was a teenager, I hated my mother for “forcing” me to go to things like this, which is how my sister currently feels. I hope she had fun anyway.

As usual with my family, sometimes words can’t adequately describe the events, so this will probably just be a picture-heavy post.

Mom and Me

Mom and Me

Sarah just found out some people don't love fatimins (fried dough coated in powdered sugar)

The fatimins out of the fryer and ready to be coated

Cousin Amy coating the fatimins

Aunt Kathy, after mom got a littl frisky with the flour

Umm... mom with the rolling pin. Not sure what else to say.

After a long 12 hours of baking

After the "adults" passed out for the evening, Sarah and I made sugar cookies

Although we were impressed with our decorating skills, the actual cookies were rock hard and inedible

And after all that cookie-baking and family bonding, I’m definitely in the holiday spirit. All that stands between me and holiday break is a final head to toe assessment and one more final. Woo! I’m already looking forward to holiday parties and spending time with friends! We also booked a trip to Seattle in January! We’re spending a few days in Seattle and taking a day trip to Portland as part of our “Where do we want to live next?” quest. Any suggestions? Where should we go? What should we eat?

This week, along with finishing school, I’ll be making truffles and baking pies for the family Christmas party. Be back soon with real food!

8 responses »

  1. Looks like fun with the fam! 12 hours of baking is alot lol…I’m sure your sister enjoyed it though (secretly)… I appreciate things like this more now that I’m older as well 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m preparing myself for something similar this coming weekend, although I’ll be embarking on more than 12 hours of baking (not in a row, thank GOD!) all on my own. Eeek!

    I’m sorry your sugar cookies didn’t turn out! Which recipe did you use?

    Reply
    • I really couldn’t tell you. Sarah picked it out. She claimed it was the first link when she googled sugar cookie recipes. Awful. 😦

      Reply
  3. hahaha omg that pic of your mom with the rolling pin is hilarious lol. Hope you all had a good time…see you in like…4 days?!?!!

    Reply
  4. Fatimins are gross.

    Reply
  5. Great pics. Good luck on your last exam and assessment.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Mac & Cheese with Squash « The Idle Loaf

  7. Pingback: Ending on a Sweet Note | The Idle Loaf Ending on a Sweet Note | Just another girl who kneads bread

Leave a Reply

