RSS Feed

Lobster Ravioli with Brown Butter Sauce

Posted on

My 2010 is off to a pretty good start, and I hope yours is too! We went to a friend’s party last night, but left before midnight. A few friends from the party came with us back to our place where we hung out, talked and toasted the new year. We were up pretty late and I woke up at noonish expecting to feel pretty awful, but I was pleasantly surprised. (Brent on the other hand has not been his usual bright-eyed self.)

Feeling like a virtuous start to the decade, I aimed to use as much fresh produce as possible for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast consisted of a smoothie with banana, frozen cherries, skim milk and flax seed with a sliced red pear. Lunch was a big salad — spring mix, carrot, cuke, grape tomatoes and avocado with homemade red wine vinaigrette. I dragged myself upstairs to the elliptical and though the workout kind of sucked due to my laziness the past few weeks, I felt better after it was done. We’ve spent the afternoon planning some of our Seattle vacation (we leave on Wednesday!), trying to figure out what to see, where to go, what to eat. I’m getting really excited! 🙂

For dinner I decided to use the lobster ravioli we bought at Trader Joe’s two weeks ago. We didn’t have much in the way of sauce ingredients and I didn’t want to dump marinara on it, so I just made a brown butter sauce with butter, salt and pepper.

Brent and I both enjoyed it, and the ravioli made a nice meal for only $4 or so. It’s things like this that make me miss living in the vicinity of a Trader Joe’s. The rest of our evening is going to stay relatively low-key — talk more about our trip and maybe watch a movie. I’m hoping I get to bed fairly early tonight so I can resume my normal schedule. The past 3 night’s I’ve been up past 3am!

Leave a Reply

