RSS Feed

Black-Eyed Pea Cakes

Posted on

I know eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day is supposed to bring good luck, so I fully intended to make these cakes on Friday. I’m not sure what happened, or even if we had a dinner on Friday, but I made them today. It made for an easy dinner on a day when I’ve been lazing in bed all day with the “Brent’s going back to work and oh crap I have to start school soon again” blues.

This is only my second time ever cooking with black-eyed peas, so I still had plenty dried peas left over from my first try. Bean patties/cakes/burgers/etc… are kind of one of our staple dinners because they’re so forgiving and easy. I just toss in beans, breadcrumbs (or oats), a binder (egg or flax egg) and some spices. Tonight I used 1c. cooked black-eyed peas, 1/3c. panko, an egg, some salt, red pepper flakes, garlic powder and chili powder.

I pan fried them with a little olive oil on my griddle and topped them off with some Country Bob’s sauce, with some roasted orange cauliflower on the side. We enjoyed them as is, but I think they’d be even better with some cornmeal in place of the panko to give them more of a hush puppy type feel.

ARTISAN BREAD

Catherine and I are going to work on baking more of the fantastic recipes from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I mentioned in my 2009 round-up that I wanted to work my way through more of the recipes, so I’m excited to have company while doing it! If you want to join us, send either or both of us an email letting us know!

4 responses »

  1. Wow, that’s a gorgeous photo. And some of my favorite ingredients.

    Reply
  2. I wish you were cooking from their new healthy artisan bread book as I would surely join you. Love the good luck dish.

    Reply
    • Kelly,
      I’ve got their whole grain master recipe from the new book in my fridge right now. I haven’t made any bread yet. I’m trying to decide whether or not to buy it still.

      Reply
  3. Have you guys heard about the google group that is cooking through the book? Check this blog out to get the information http://www.bigblackdogs.net

    It would be fun to have you be a part of our group!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

