RSS Feed

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Posted on

Tuesday nights are going to be ROUGH! I have a 12 hour clinical that leaves me pretty beat, so I tried to plan ahead and made a variety of frozen meals to bake when I get home. Last night we had Butternut Squash Lasagna from Cooking Light. I made the entire recipe (2 lasagnas) and froze both, so I never ate it before freezing it. Given that I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, I was really happy with it! Brent really enjoyed it as well.

This was definitely time-consuming to make (especially if you make their smoky marinara like I did), but each lasagna provided Brent and I with dinner and two lunches each and since I made two, that’s 6 meals for us so it was definitely worth the effort. I will say that it took longer to thaw than I anticipated. I took it out of the freezer on Monday around noon and Tuesday at 5:30pm, it was still fairly frozen. It wasn’t a big deal, but it did take me more like an hour and half to cook.

Maybe not super photogenic, but very delicious. I did actually make one change — mozzarella in place of the provolone. It was just what I had on hand. I thought it was a very nice spin on traditional lasagna. I’m so glad I have another one in the freezer! Pasta and cheese make me so happy! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I love to do things like that. I’ve been thinking I might set some time aside this weekend to make ravioli to freeze.

    Reply
  2. Wow that looks so good! I just came across your blog and it looks fabulous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

