RSS Feed

I Just Love Pizza

Posted on

When we were in Seattle, we ate some really crappy pizza. It was unfortunate really. The restaurant – Serious Pie – had rave reviews from basically everyone on the planet, so Brent and I were pretty excited to try it. Total disappointment. We had the clam & pancetta pizza, and believe or not, it was indescribably bland. No flavor. Definitely heat from some red pepper flake, but only heat. Blah. What was most unfortunate about our experience is that when we told people we did not enjoy our pizza, they seriously asked, “Oh was it too gourmet for you?” Because, obviously, as hicks from Indiana we wouldn’t know great pizza if it bit us in the ass. Ugh. So offensive.

Anyway, as I was recently reminded, it doesn’t matter if we may not able to get good pizza in Seattle. I can just make my own, which I love way more. It never disappoints me. 🙂 Last night Brent and I made some personal pizzas using the olive oil dough from Artisan Bread. My pizza was tomato & herb sauce, spinach, mozzarella and Parmesan.
Brent’s pizzas are always so boring. This time, rather than just plain mozzarella, he also included anchovies. He loves those salty little fish. Back to my pizza – look at how good this looks!

This olive oil dough made a great crust. I think I like it more than the master recipe dough for pizza. Looking at these pictures is actually making me wish I was eating this pizza again. Sometime you just really need a flatbread covered in cheese, you know?

I’m trying to get at least one serving of cooked leafy greens a day. Brent was alarmed at the amount of spinach I bought at the store, so expect to see quite a bit of it on the blog. I’ll be back tomorrow with another installment of the Artisan Bread Olive Oil Dough. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. DROOL!
    Must make pizza SOON… too bad the diet started, so i gotta find a good whole wheat dough. You got one?

    Reply
  2. Not that I didn’t JUST make pizza, but I totally want pizza again! Yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

