RSS Feed

Learning to love the crockpot

Posted on

I went on an actual date with my husband tonight! Out of the house and everything. I don’t know what it is about leaving the house, but I’ve found Brent and I always have better conversations and focus more on each other when we leave the house. The lack of TV, internet and iPhones is a big help! 🙂

I also met my friend Sheila for a workout at our school’s wellness center today. Such a good idea! I probably wouldn’t have worked out today, if I hadn’t planned on meeting her. We’ve planned to continue working out together a few times a week after class!

OK, onto the food. During school, I’ve been trying to plan at least one crockpot meal a week. It’s so convenient and I want to love my crockpot. My main problem with the crockpot is that so many of the vegetarian recipes I find for it are soups and chilis. While I obviously love a soup, we eat them so often for lunch that I’d like something different for dinner. While I was searching the internet for non-soup crockpot meals over winter break, I came across this recipe for Gingery Chickpeas in Spicy Tomato Sauce.

I really liked this. I served it over a bed of spinach along with some half whole-wheat naan. Brent seemed to think it was “pretty OK.” Given the ease and convenience of the crockpot, I definitely think I would make it again.

Do you have a favorite (vegetarian, non-soup) crockpot recipe?

3 responses »

  1. Baked beans are pretty good in the crock pot! It doesn’t constitute a full meal, but at least an entree?? (Throw in some veggie dogs for a total kid meal!?!)

    Reply
  2. That’s a tough one. I think it’s hard to find any good crockpot meals in general!

    Reply
  3. I love my crockpot. I definitely don’t use it as much as I would like. I would also look at some of the guidelines online for adapting oven recipes to your crockpot. I’ve had pretty good success with this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

