RSS Feed

Bread Baking

Posted on

The bake-along with Catherine and Crystal is definitely one of the more fun things in my life right now. It’s forcing me to try new things in the kitchen, which would probably fall pretty low on the priority list without a reason otherwise. We decided to try the Oatmeal Bread and Vermont Cheddar Bread this week and I’m so glad we did.

I’ve had my eye on the Oatmeal Bread for a while, but I could never convince myself to buy all the necessary ingredients (oat bran, wheat bran, maple syrup…). I’m so glad I finally made it!

I had some issues with the bread, mostly that it was a bit crumbly and “floppy” for lack of a better word. It firmed up a bit the second day, so maybe I just cut it when it was still too warm. I also used skim milk rather than whole, which may have had something to do with it. Regardless, this bread tasted amazing. Brent and I demolished the whole loaf in a matter of days, mostly in the form of toast (a lot of mine with cinnamon sugar!) and butter. I don’t think this bread would hold up to making a hearty sandwich or anything, but it makes a great morning (or snack) toast.

Up next on the bake-along agenda was the Vermont Cheddar Bread. I’ve been using this dough in little bits and pieces to make flatbreads for snacks and faux English muffins. I’ve recently become obsessed with egg and spinach sandwiches, and this bread made the perfect endcaps for them!

This semester is a killer, so it’s nice to have small things like home-made bread to get me through it. 🙂 I’m looking forward to our next bake-along project! Let me know if you want to join us!

2 responses »

  1. I think I have to buy some English Muffin rings . . . !!!

    Reply
  2. That sounds like a perfect way to push yourself in the kitchen. The vermont cheddar bread sounds fantastic. I agree that it sounds like the base for some killer egg sandwiches.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

