RSS Feed

Blah

Posted on

Today’s been kind of a let down, which Brent would tell you is ridiculous because nothing horrible happened and my life is totally great. All of that is true, but sometimes you just can’t help but feel blah and mopey. The day had a less than spectacular start. I had class at 8am and needed to be out of the house by 7:15.  Apparently I turned my alarm off in my sleep and I woke up at 6:50 when Brent got in the shower. Crap!

After a mad dash to shower, dress, and blend a smoothie, we got out the door in time. Obviously there was no picture of breakfast. It was a yogurt, banana, strawberry and flax seed smoothie. I drank it while learning about the anatomic and physiological changes that occur during pregnancy — best birth control ever. I called my mom to tell her I couldn’t believe she went through that 4 times!

After class I rushed to fill out my march madness bracket 30 minutes before the first game because I forgot to do it last night. I also had a disappointing phone call with a doctor’s office. I’m in the process of searching for a new one and after researching, I found a physician in Fort Wayne who has an integrative philosophy closer to my own. Unfortunately he’s one of a kind in the Fort and has no openings for new patients until December. I was crushed. Devastated. I get devastated pretty easily though so Brent didn’t seem too concerned. To console myself I made a hummus, veggie & tuna wrap. On a whole wheat tortilla, I spread half of a single serve of hummus. Next I layered some organic spring mix, radishes, cucumber, and 1/4 of an avocado. I mixed the remaining half of the hummus with a serving of tuna and spread that on the top.

Then I just rolled it all up. I used a small glob of hummus as glue to hold the tortilla together. I kind of thought that was genius on my part. Cut in half and serve.

After taking Lucy for a 30 minute walk, I picked Brent up from work a little earlier than usual. While watching some basketball, we split a small bag of potato chips – like half a serving each – and I had a cup of Jones Orange & Cream soda. Brent and I were talking earlier today about getting some chips and dip to have while watching basketball. A month ago this would not even have been an issue for me. I would have been all over it. I freaking love some chips and dip when the occasion calls for it. Now that I have this cholesterol diagnosis and I’m trying to make myself believe I can help it with diet and exercise, I felt so torn. I seriously had long drawn out conversations about it in my head. I Hate thinking like that. I never wanted to be “that healthy chick who doesn’t eat chips or ice cream or pizza or whatever.” Not that there’s anything wrong with not eating those things… but I like all of those things! I don’t want to have to be so stressed about eating a snack. I’m sure I’ll progress and move past that way of thinking, but it just generally made me feel crappy for the rest of the evening.

Moving on, I did have pizza again for dinner. I know. Totes lame. This is why I’m not a good “this is everything I eat every day” blogger. I don’t try to be creative. If I find something delicious, I will generally eat it frequently until either Brent or I is sick of it. So more grilled pizza it was. This time, I made my pizza with a base layer of ricotta mixed with a small spoonful of pesto. I layered sautéed kale on top and sprinkling a small amount of mozzarella to hold the kale down. We also grilled another bunch of asparagus — because it’s life-changingly delicious.

This pizza was delish, but not as ridiculously outstanding as yesterday and here’s why: the coals were defs not as hot today. Those things need to be super hot. Like burn your hand off if you hold it above them hot. Today was more like a mild heat. I have no idea why. But it’s something to keep in mind if you’re planning on throwing the dough on a grill anytime soon.

Speaking of grilling pizza, today I was so proud of last night’s dinner I was detailing it to some of my classmates. They were generally confused, (as they usually are when I discuss my food), and my teacher even said, “I have never ever heard of grilling pizza.” I just shrugged and said “well Bobby Flay does it all the time.” They looked at me like I had 3 heads. I get really amused by people’s wide-eyed expressions sometimes.

2 responses »

  1. Victoria – Sounds like you are using a lot so I don’t blame you for wanting to work through it. I think you should never apologize for your feelings.

    Reply
  2. I hear ya — I don’t want to be one of “those girls,” either. The ones who just put balsamic vinegar or lemon juice on their salads because they “like it better that way!” UGH.

    How about making your own microwave potato chips? I know leng at “leng’s log” has made her own before — maybe she could give you some pointers?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

