RSS Feed

The Weekend

Posted on

My food intake on weekends tends to be all over the place. This weekend was no exception. We were in and out of the house and spent a lot of time with friends. Friday night we had some of my friends from school over for dinner. I made Brent’s favorite meal: Chicken with Forty Cloves of Garlic. Wow! I just realized that I made it last year on the exact same date. Weird. With the chicken I made roasted potatoes, homemade caesar salad and artisan bread. I took no photos, but it looks the same as it did last year.

Saturday was all over the place. I started the morning with Oikos, a banana, and almond granola with coffee. Warning — most of this post is iPhone photos.

Later that afternoon, I used the cut off ends of last week’s asparagus bunches to make some cream of asparagus soup. I chopped up the asparagus ends and sautéed them in 1 tbs. each of butter and canola oil. I sprinkled 1-2 tbs. of flour and cooked until the flour was mixed in. Pour in 3-4 cups of vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Simmer until asparagus ends are tender, about 20 minutes. Puree the soup in a blender, return to the pot and whisk in 2 tbs. heavy cream. Season with salt and pepper. This was so simple and delicious!

After lunch, Brent and I headed to Brewfest to sample some beer. I was driving, so Brent used both of our ticket and I just had a few sips of the samples. I probably ended up drinking the equivalent of half a beer and snacking my way through a serving or so of pretzels.

We met some of our friends at Brewfest and headed to a local pub for dinner and more drinks. I didn’t have any drinks, but I did have a cod cake with some sautéed spinach, cabbage and leeks and a few pub chips. Really good! The fun wasn’t over yet so we went to our friends house for more drinks and talking. I had a glass of wine, and became exhausted. We eventually left around 12:30. I’m getting too old to stay out late!

This morning I got up (way before Brent!) and went grocery shopping. The grocery store has a Starbucks in it, so I bought a tall soy latte to drink while shopping. I wasn’t super hungry, so when I got home I just had a sliced pear while trying to do some studying.

When Brent finally got out of bed, we went to get some lunch. I had a vegetarian sandwich from Jimmy John’s and a few sips of Brent’s Coke. I dragged Brent shopping so I could try to find a spring coat. Totally unsuccessful. We spent the rest of the afternoon watching basketball and eating some chips.

After realizing how gross greasy chips make me feel, I got my act together and made a healthy dinner. I made Kale with Raisins and Pine Nuts and served it with a seared salmon fillet. The salmon was just seasoned with salt and pepper and then brushed lightly with maple syrup.

I only ended up eating half of the salmon (but I finished all my greens!) You’ll see the other half of the salmon in tomorrow’s lunch. So that was my weekend in a nutshell. I’ve got to get to bed now — 5am comes way too quick!

One response »

  1. Can you believe I’ve never had Greek yogurt?

    I should make your greens recipe soon! Must pick up pine nuts . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

