RSS Feed

Weeknight Date

Posted on

Today was gorgeous in Fort Wayne! Nearly 60 degree and sunny and flowers are starting to bloom! My appetite was still a bit wonky this morning. I couldn’t decide what to eat for breakfast and I didn’t really feel like making anything so I just reheated some channa masala from last night. Along with some coffee it made a delicious, if slightly nontraditional, breakfast.

I spent most of the day studying for my maternity class, making bread, and taking walks.  For lunch I, again, didn’t feel like putting much effort into preparing something. I heated up a Morningstar Riblet (I can’t decide if I like these), and made and salad with spring mix, carrots, cucumbers, red bell pepper, roasted beets, olive oil and white balsamic vinegar. The riblet is certainly not attractive, but it was easy.

While I was eating lunch, I had two loaves of whole wheat bread baking in the oven. One for Brent’s breakfasts and one for the freezer. I just love the smell of baking bread!

After an hour and a half of daydreaming/walking this afternoon, I started making dinner. I made Mushroom Barley Soup, which was quite good. I had a bowl along with the heel of one of the loaves. It makes such good toast!

A little while after dinner Brent and I took a 30 minute walk to 800 Degrees for some drinks. I had a pint of Rogue Dead Guy Ale and we split the bruschetta, which was so delicious! It came with lots of pesto, which is one of my current favorite things. I love midweek date nights! 🙂 After another walk, we’re back home and on the couch watching Lost. Gotta go!

One response »

  1. We’re getting warm temps in Chicago as well! Yay! It’s amazing how a 10-20 degree difference can be such a mood booster. All of your meals, easy or not, look delicious. I also agree with you, the smell of baking bread is amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

