RSS Feed

Sweet Potato Pancakes

Posted on

This morning I wanted something different for breakfast, not eggs or yogurt or oatmeal or any of my usual weekday morning suspects. I had half of a plain baked sweet potato from last night’s dinner in the fridge and in an attempt to eat my veggies, I based breakfast around that. After mashing the sweet potato thoroughly, I added 1 egg, 2 tablespoons whole wheat flour, 2 teaspoons sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. The mix made 2 pancakes on the cast iron griddle.

Topped with some Earth Balance and pure maple syrup. These were not so much like traditional pancakes. I’m sure if I had put some leavener in them they would have been a been lighter or fluffier but as they were, I loved them! They were dense and moist and sweet. So delicious – a perfect weekend breakfast. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Yum yum! I love sweet potatoes.

    Reply
  2. Yum. I was thinking of the more savory variety but this sounds fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

