RSS Feed

Tuna Nicoise Salad

Posted on

I cannot fully express how much I enjoyed tonight’s dinner! With 80 degree weather upon us, I was in need of something that would be refreshing. I can’t stand eating super hot or heavy meals when it is this warm outside. I made a Tuna Nicoise Salad and it definitely hit the spot.

Doesn’t that just look beautiful? The salad contained 3oz seared ahi tuna, 1 hard-boiled egg, 2 tablespoon sliced kalamata olives, a few slices of red onion, 1/2 cup steamed green beans, 1 roma tomato,  1.5 boiled baby red potatoes and 1/8 of an avocado (which I know is not traditional, but I just love avocado in salad), all served over a cup of organic spring mix. The dressing (for 2 people) was: 1 tbs. red wine vinegar, 1/2 tbs. white balsamic vinegar, 2 tbs. basil-infused extra-virgin olive oil, 1/2 tsp. dijon mustard, and 1/2 tsp. honey. Whisk together and pour over the salad.

Yep, I was pretty much in love with this salad. I’ll probably make it again next week, because that’s how I roll. If I like something, I just keep making it until I get sick of it. Now it’s back to studying….

3 responses »

  1. Ooooooohhhhh yum! I made a tempeh nicoise salad not too long ago, and your post reminds me that I better put the ingredients on my shopping list for next week!

    P.S. Do you want to work on any bread while Crystal is away?

    Reply
  2. I have to admit, Tuna Nicoise is not usually my favorite thing, but adding avocado to it makes it look much more luscious to me!

    Reply
  3. mmm that salad looks so yummy! I don’t like eating heavy when it’s extra hot out either!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

