RSS Feed

A Random Mix

Posted on

I know I’ve been gone so long that the few of you even still reading probably thought I was finished with this little blog of mine. The truth is, it’s be an insanely crazy few weeks. Two weeks ago, after a stay in the intensive care unit, my Grandma Bonnie passed away. She was the originator of our family’s country-ass noodles and didn’t take bullshit from anyone. I regret not being able to spend more time with her. She will be greatly missed.

Two weeks ago we also put our house back on the market, and after what seems like nonstop showings over the past 10 days, we have an accepted offer! I was pretty sick all last week and Brent was across the country on a business trip and we were going back and forth on negotiations with the buyers, so it was a LONG week. The relief I feel about selling this house cannot be overstated. I will definitely be sad to leave, but I am so thrilled about eventually moving! Nothing is official yet, of course. We still have to pass inspection and appraisal and the buyers have to close on the house they are selling, but as of right now, we’re planning on closing on the house and moving in 3-4 weeks!

Oh, this is a food blog? Sorry, I’d nearly forgotten. Homemade food has been minimal lately. Most house hunters seems to look right around dinner time, sending us out of the house hungry. A while ago, (maybe like 3 weeks?), I made chickpea ratatouille, which I saw on Heather’s blog a while ago. I only have a before cooking shot, no after ones.

It was pretty delicious. I would make it again. I think Brent just thought it was ok, but he’s not a huge fan of chickpeas.

In other random news, Brent went to Dark Lord Day at Three Floyds Brewery yesterday. Apparently this beer is supposed to be one of the best in the world and it is only offered for sale one day a year and you must buy a ticket a few months in advance to be guaranteed to be allowed to buy some. Brent got two bottles of it, one of which he opened tonight.

It’s a thick, sweet stout, and I think it tastes like burnt cherries. Regardless of how I feel, Brent thought Dark Lord Day was a lot of fun. It’s a huge gathering of beer lovers with lots of beer swapping and tasting going on. He waited in line for 5 hours to buy this, but he really enjoyed himself.

I think that’s about it for now. We’re done with showings on the house and my school semester is winding down, so I hope to be able to start cooking up a storm again!

Leave a Reply

