RSS Feed

A Fresh Start

Posted on

The past month has been insane. From the listing of our house to the closing and moving out of our house, only 30 days elapsed. I’ve basically been one giant ball of anxiety that entire time, which obviously impaired my ability to live a normal, healthy life. This past Friday we closed and moved (with the help of some friends) across town to our townhouse rental, where we will be staying at least through the end of the year. I worked like a madwoman to unpack and get my life organized so that I could go back to cooking, working out and watching bad reality television on a regular basis.

My new kitchen may not be ideal (it’s like 1/3 of the square footage of my old one), but it works and I finally have the time and energy to use it! To psych myself up for homemade meals and healthy eating, I’ll show you what I managed to prepare today.

Breakfast involved my 3 cholesterol-lowering F’s: Fiber (in the form of oats), Flax (in the oatmeal), and Fish Oil (that big red pill). The oats were made with half a cup of unsweetened soymilk, 1/2 cup oats, 1 tablespoon ground flax and a banana, topped with some fresh raspberries and served with coffee.

I’m on school break for one more week, so I had time to lift weights in our “home gym” (second bedroom) after dropping Brent off at work. It kind of sucked – I have let myself get ridiculously out of shape in the past month or two.

Morning snack was a cup of fruit salad made with strawberries, blueberries, blackberries and kiwi – basically all the fruit on sale at the store this week. Eating fruit that’s been chopped up and mixed together makes me feel much more satisfied than just eating an apple or banana. Weird, I know.

Lunch was a big salad composed of organic spring mix, carrots, roasted beets, chickpeas, radish, cucumber and avocado, dressed with olive oil and red wine vinegar. This salad took me over an hour to eat. I think I was distracted by Gmail chat.

I had to go to my school to get a new entrance code for my school gym — which I am much closer to now! and while I was there, I decided I had time to spend an hour on the elliptical watching the Maury Show. I like to do that sort of thing, especially when it is summer break and I’m the only one in the gym. It’s tragic – all the dudes that want to be the father never are and the jerks denying it always are.

After that I was starving. In this situation, the starvation was probs related to the exercise, but generally I’m starving all day long and eat like 6-8 times a day, so it’s hard to say for sure. I came home and made the quickest snack I could think of – toasted half of a pita pocket smeared with Barney Butter and raspberry green tea because it was raining and I was freezing.

I’m usually pretty whatever about the flavored green teas, but I really liked this one. I chowed this in like 2 seconds flat while a maintenance guy came to fix my oven (it wouldn’t close all the way – the horror!). As a side note, I love that Brent and I can just call someone to fix stuff now. Definitely one of the perks of not owning your home.

After picking Brent up from work, I spent only 20 minutes making dinner. I made the Classic Sichuan Noodles from the Moosewood Daily Specials cookbook. I can’t find the recipe online, but I highly recommend the book. I totally love it, and these noodles were delicious. The peanut sauce was made with peanut butter, soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, Sriracha, and warm water. For the noodles I used whole wheat spaghetti, which was tossed with bean sprouts and julienned cucumber. After tossing with the sauce, the noodles were sprinkled with scallions, and sesame seeds. I would definitely make this again, and probably throw in a few more veggies too.

Brent liked it too, which is always a plus. Now I’m munching on some of these veggie sticks (which I love) and getting ready to watch House.

My new goal is to be in bed by 10pm to make waking up a little bit easier. One day down so far. Hope I can keep it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

