RSS Feed

A Soup Kind of Day

Posted on

It’s been drizzly, cold and grey for the past couple of days. It makes me want to curl up on the couch with a blanket and a cup of beer cheese soup. There’s no cheese in the house and I probably ought to eat more well-balanced food anyway, so tonight I made Baked Bean Soup, another recipe from Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special.

Brent thinks I may have made this before, and he’s probably right. It sounds like something I’d make. He particularly likes the broth of this soup. What was especially exciting about tonight’s dinner is that I made my first loaf of bread in my new kitchen! I’ve been missing homemade bread. This is the Idle Loaf, after all. I was worried about my super old and pretty tiny oven holding the heat and producing the crispy crust I love, but it worked really well. I went with the Artisan Bread master recipe, because it’s nearly foolproof. Crust is delicious dunked in broth. Yum.

Now I’m drinking a POM and club soda and getting ready for Lost. Good night!

2 responses »

  1. YUM! I love the Moosewood cookbooks!

    We should do another bread something sometime soon!

    Reply
    • I definitely agree. Now that life has calmed down a bit, I want to get back to the bake-a-long! There are still so many I haven’t tried yet!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

