RSS Feed

Bean & Beet Burgers

Posted on

A few weeks ago Brent must have had a really slow day at work because he emailed me a long list of recipes to try out at some point. Included in that list was this link for the “Best Ever” veggie burgers. I like black bean burgers, but I was curious about the added beets and brown rice. I made a batch of them last night, and I don’t know if I’m willing to call them the best ever, but I really enjoyed them. Plus, they were pink!

I did, however, make a few changes. First, I shredded the beets rather than dicing them. It just seemed easier. Also, once it was all mixed, I had doubts about the ability of the burgers to hold together so I added 2 beaten eggs and increased the flour to 1/2 cup. I think my changes worked out for the best. A complete burger, topped with pickles!

At first Brent and I thought the burger seemed a little bland, but the more I ate, the more it grew on me. By the last couple bites, I was like “Wow. This is really good!” The burger held together beautifully. Along with some roasted orange cauliflower, this made for a very satisfying meal. We have leftover mix to make more burgers for a quick dinner tomorrow after clinical.

4 responses »

  1. How fun! Beet and bean burgers sound really tasty and different.

    P.S. Good job Brent on the pickles the other night! I can’t wait until the cucumbers come in season here, because Dan can eat his weight in pickles if left to his own devices! 😉

    Reply
  2. I had the real deal – the one from the Northstar Cafe in Columbus and it was amazing. I am so excited to try this!

    Reply
  3. Sounds like an interesting combo! I have never heard of a beet+black bean burger before 🙂

    Reply
  4. Love that they look colorful and delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

