RSS Feed

Fish Sandwich with Sriracha Mayonnaise, Pickled Onions & Herb Salad

Posted on

I’m obsessed with Top Chef and I’ve been a loyal follower since the first season. Even after we canceled cable, I started buying the season passes on iTunes so that I could keep up. I think this is the first time Brent and I have ever made anything from the show. A few weeks ago, they had a challenge where they had to make a sandwich, and Angelo (who Brent loves and I hate) and Tracey made this Fish Sandwich and Brent became obsessed. He’s very into pickling things lately and he’s always loved Sriracha, so it was a perfect fit for him.

He made his own pickled red onions, using the recipe in the link above but replacing the cucumbers with red onions, rather than using the recipe from Top Chef. We actually made this sandwich last week, and I made some ciabatta using the master recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes. We had some mahi mahi leftover today and wanted to make the sandwich again, but I was out of dough, so we just served in on some whole wheat hamburger buns. Both versions were delicious. I highly recommend making the sandwich. Also, Brent claims that dill is a very underused herb and I would have to agree with him on that. I love it.

Alongside, I made some roasted cauliflower to complete tonight’s dinner. Please ignore the craptastic photo quality. I’m using my iPhone’s camera because I need to buy a new one and being a nursing student pays me nothing. That’s all for now. I’ve got to get back to enjoying Sunday night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

