RSS Feed

A Throw-Together

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner was one of those “well at least I didn’t resort to ordering pizza” kind of meals. I spent 8 straight hours reading up on such exciting topics as “Interpreting intracranial waveforms” and “New Advents in Neurological Monitoring” and I just really had no desire to make dinner when the time came.

Aware that I had just been grocery shopping the day prior and spent a fair chunk of change, I just looked around blankly for inspiration and started throwing things in a saute pan. I sautéed some shallots in olive oil, then I added some sweet italian chicken sausage until browned, then a drained and rinsed can of chickpeas, and in the final moments, a big handful of grape tomatoes. Meanwhile, I boiled water and made some Parmesan couscous (from a box). I served everything together and actually had it ready when Brent got home from work.

Well, it only took 15 minutes, but it was actually super delicious. Sauteing the chickpeas really brought out their flavor and I loved them in this. This sausage was really tasty too, and not super salty or greasy, which was nice. I thought the couscous had a processed “flavoring” taste, but that’s sort of to be expected from a box, and it was totally fine when mixed with everything else.

I am now about to enjoy a glass of wine and head to bed within the hour. I am just too damn exciting for my own good.

2 responses »

  1. Looks like a delicious dinner! better then take out pizza 🙂

    Reply
  2. Although I do love good take out pizza, sometimes I do love a good throw together meal and they can yield some surprising flavor combinations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

