RSS Feed

An Ideal Day

Posted on

It’s been such a fun weekend. I feel like I’m starting my summer break early. I still have one more week of school, but I’ve largely managed to avoid thinking about that while hanging out with Brent this weekend. First up, we had a stay-at-home date night with homemade sushi and The Shining. The Shining was the most terrifying movie ever. I had never seen it before, and I wasn’t prepared to be quite so freaked out. My sushi, however, was totally delicious and much enjoyed, as always. I made 2 California rolls for myself.

Saturday, we drove up to Ann Arbor for the Ann Arbor Street Art Fair, which I’ve been really looking forward to. It ended up being my version of an ideal day. Loved it. We drove through a lot of rain on the way there, and we were worried the entire thing would be a waste of a trip. We arrived around 11:30 and decided to wait out the rain by having a beer and lunch at The Jolly Pumpkin Cafe & Brewery. I had the Weizen Bam beer, which was fruity and delicious. We also split the truffle fries. OMG – truffle fries. I had a love affair with them in Denver last summer and I’ve missed them greatly. We also split a pizza, which was just kind of whatevs and very forgettable.

The rain died down, the sun came out, and we were able to walk around and scope out the four art fairs — really just one giant art fair. It actually got ridiculously hot and humid out later in the afternoon and it was nearly unbearable. We purchased a gorgeous piece of art as an early birthday present from Brent to me — a handmade clay avocado. Please, it is way cooler than it sounds. You must believe me. I’ll have to take a picture. On our way out of town, we stopped at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods. You know, since we were already in the area. Brent was very patient while I wandered through aisle after aisle. We got back into the Fort around 7:30 last night, grabbed some Thai takeout and watched Bee Movie, which I thought was kind of cute and Brent absolutely hated.

Today was full of uninteresting “housekeeping” type things, such as taking an online exam, grocery shopping, and making big pot of chili for dinner and weekday lunches. It’s Teany’s Top-Secret Chili from the Teany Book. Brent and I and our friends just refer to it as “Moby Chili.” The spiciness, and the cocoa powder, and the coffee, and the seitan – yum. Totes delicious and flavorful. I used fresh corn on the cob rather than frozen this time and Brent thinks it improved the recipe even further, adding a good sweetness to it.

Served with a dollop of Daisy and an unpictured piece of jalapeno cheddar cheese cornbread. Only one week left of school and only one more exam! Then three glorious weeks off before I start back up again. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I kind of wish it was chili weather . . . yours looks so good!

    Reply
  2. We have been experimenting with different sushi rolls recently and have come up with some really great pairings, most are vegetarian too. If you are ever looking for something different

    Reply

Leave a Reply

