RSS Feed

Orange-Ginger Tofu Stir-Fry

Posted on

Tonight’s Meatless Monday dinner was meant to get a huge bounty of veggies into our diet because I feel like we’ve been seriously lacking in that department lately. I prepped for dinner by pressing a block of extra-firm tofu and slicing red bell pepper, carrots, onions, broccoli and zucchini.

After cubing the tofu, I browned it in a big skillet with a tablespoon of oil and then removed it with a slotted spoon. Next I threw in all the veggies except the zucchini and sautéed until soft. At that point I tossed in the zucchini, tofu and the stir-fry sauce.

Orange-Ginger Stir-Fry Sauce

  • 1/2 c. orange juice
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 T honey
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 T ginger, minced
  • 2 T cornstarch

I whisked all the ingredients together, threw it in the skillet and brought it to a bubble. The sauce thickened up after 2 minutes and dinner was ready. I served my portion over 1/2 cup of brown rice.

I really liked this. Brent, not so much. He did not care for the orange flavor apparently. Oh well, can’t win ’em all.

In other news, look at my adorable avocado! I love it. I’m hanging it on the wall connecting the kitchen to the dining room. It makes me very happy.

The artist is Carol Cline out of Grand Rapids, but she has no website or anything. She had a huge variety of produce to choose from. I had a hard time deciding until I saw my beloved avocado. 🙂

3 responses »

  1. Brent be damned, that sauce sounds amazing! Dan might not like it, either, though — was it a little on the sweet side? Maybe using half orange juice and half lime juice would work in our house . . . hmmm!

    P.S. Your avocado is so cute. 🙂

    Reply
    • I think half lime juice sounds like a good idea. It was a little sweet, and I think Brent prefers spicy & garlicky.

      Reply
  2. Looks deicious, I love eating tofu, veggies and rice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

