RSS Feed

Israeli Couscous Salad with Tomatoes, Mozzarella & Basil

Posted on

I’m done with school…. for the summer anyway. One more semester and in a few months I’ll be ready to take my boards! Thursday was my last day at the hospital for the summer, and I took my lecture final this morning. This morning, while I was looking through my notes one final time, Brent looked at me and said “Geez honey, I’m glad today’s your last day because I don’t think you could make it much longer.” Truer words have never been spoken. After my exam, I went out for margaritas with a few of my friends from class, and then got home and passed out in bed for a much-needed nap. It was glorious.

The point of this post was not to detail my exhaustion. We all have things that keep us busy. I did, however, want to tell you about this super simple salad I made Wednesday night. Good thing it was practically no-cook because our power went out for 5 hours that night! I had already cooked a cup of couscous, and then added 2 diced tomatoes, 1/3 a cup of diced fresh mozzarella, and 1/2 a cup of chopped basil. I coated with a tablespoon of olive oil and 1/2 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.

Ignore the weird faux marble shelf. I had to take the photo right next to the window to have any light at all. I really loved this. Brent thought it was OK (quite picky, isn’t he?). Apparently he does not enjoy the texture of fresh mozzarella. He thinks it’s too much like uncooked tofu.

Tonight’s dinner was just some two buck chuck from Trader Joe’s, goat cheese, a french baguette and a hand full of olives. Really, my ideal dinner. We have plans to go out to dinner for a friend’s birthday tomorrow night, then Brent’s birthday is Monday, and my birthday is Thursday. So excited! šŸ™‚

Gotta go watch Invictus with Brent. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

