RSS Feed

Grilled Peppers & Lentil Salad

Posted on

On the way back from Chicago Brent drove while I menu planned for the week using the new issue of Cooking Light. Nearly all the recipes in the Enlightened Vegetarian section sounded wonderful, including tonight’s dinner: Grilled Peppers & Lentil Salad.With so many flavorful ingredients, I thought this salad would taste delicious, or be too weird. Lime juice, cilantro, olives and fennel are not necessarily ingredients I would put all in the same dish.

I was really impressed! I thought it was really bright-tasting and I loved it. Brent “liked the flavors, but just doesn’t like lentils that much.” I did, however, have to change the recipe. Since moving into our townhouse, Brent and I don’t have a grill anymore, so rather than grill the peppers, I broiled them and proceeded with the recipe, and it worked just fine for me! I’m sure a charcoal grill would add even more flavor with smoky deliciousness.

Brent’s company does a “Corporate Challenge” in conjunction with our local YMCA, and the team competes in a bunch of sports, like flag football, basketball, dodgeball, etc… Well apparently they did not have enough women for the requirement, so Brent got recruited so that I would play. I have football practice on Wednesday. This should be pretty interesting – I am, by far, the least coordinated person I know, but I think it’ll be a lot of fun!

4 responses »

  1. I think I marked that recipe, too. I’m always looking for lentil recipes, since like Brent, I don’t really like them very much, but am always willing to give them a try!

    Reply
  2. I love love love lentils (and peppers), so I think I’d really enjoy this. Such pretty colors too!

    Reply
  3. Yum. I’ve been a little slow in learning to love lentils, but now they are right up my alley. This sounds fantastic even though the flavor combos may not have been what you might have initially imagined might work.

    As a side note, I’m not sure if you have/had my blog in your RSS reader, but if so you may need to update the feed. I didn’t realize when I switched over to feedburner that my old subscribers would no longer be updated so just wanted to send out the FYI. I have the link to the new feed at the top of my blog. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

