RSS Feed

Whole Wheat Pasta with Edamame, Arugula & Herbs

Posted on

I spent the day going to school (for the bookstore & the gym), cleaning, baking, and putzing around with the blog. I love making bread – I love everything about it from the sticky dough to the smell of it in the oven. I like kneading by hand, but I lack the counter space to do it effectively, and sometimes it’s nice to have a machine do the work. Even watching dough kneading in the mixer is calming. So rhythmic, right? Mabes I’m just crazy (I’ve been called worse).

As you may be able to tell, my mixer gets more than its fair share of use and abuse. After 10 minutes of kneading, my bread dough was gorgeous, but the bowl was stuck in the mixer! This actually happens to me fairly frequently. All that crazy whirring really locks it in there. Brent was able to rescue it for me when he got home though. 2 hours later I had 2 beautiful loaves of bread. I so wish I had more time in my life for bread… Sigh.

Once the bread cooled off (but was still warm!) I cut a thick slice and spread with Earth Balance and cinnamon sugar. I was going to make cinnamon toast, but the toaster was in a cabinet, so I lazed out and ate it soft. Amazeballs.

Dinner… was less stellar. It was fine, even tasty in some bites, but it was just not our thing I guess. I made this pasta dish, again from the new Cooking Light and it was definitely quick & easy, but I doubt I’d make it again.

I ate a few bites before realizing I forgot the cheese. The dish definitely improved with the addition of Parmesan. Most things do, duh. But it was just ehh. Brent was defs not a fan.

I’m bored with the blog. Not with writing it, but just with the general look and function of it. My husband writes computer code for a living and has a masters degree in computer science. I feel this means he should be able to make my blog more kick-ass. He disagrees. I’m a computer user in the “I can check my email and use iTunes” sort of way, so I’m not really sure what I can do to solve this problem. Alas. I’m off to do some yoga and get in bed super early. Wish me luck with football practice tomorrow!

One response »

  1. bread looks amazing! don’t you love soft, freshly baked bread?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

