RSS Feed

Catching Up is Hard to Do

I always find it difficult to muster up the motivation to blog after an absence, even one as short as a week. It’s not that I don’t want to blog; it’s simply that I don’t know where to start. I hate trying to squeeze everything into a massive post, but I don’t blog frequently enough to update you on everything, so alas. I usually just jump into it and skip what has already passed.

Brent and I ate wheat berries for the first time last week. Brent was not a fan. He referred to them as “weird and chewy.” I don’t know what his problem is. Weird and chewy are two of my favorite adjectives when it comes to food! I wasn’t sure what to do with them, so I made them into a salad with black beans, red bell pepper and mango. The salad recipe is a quinoa salad recipe from Veganomicon, but I just subbed wheat berries. I thought their chewiness went well. I really loved it.

What is perhaps even more exciting, is that I made my first soup of the fall season this weekend! I was so excited about the cooler temps, I was determined to celebrate by making soup. So glad to have it back in my life! I made some of my minestrone along with some unpictured Artisan Bread.

I’ve been busy with things other than soup-making as well. School is starting to pick up the pace, and today I spent the day volunteering at the MDA Telethon. Unfortunately one of the things keep me busy has been our German Shepherd, Lucy.

That photo cracks me up every time I see it! Lucy has developed an ear hematoma, which means her ear has filled with blood, as a result of her chronic ear infections (she was abused when she was younger, and has a “broken” ear, which is prone to infection as a result), and she’ll be going in for surgery tomorrow morning. She’ll have to be put under general anesthesia for the surgery, which is always a little worrisome. I’m hoping the procedure goes well and will prevent the hematoma from recurring. Wish Lucy good luck for tomorrow!

5 responses »

  1. GOod luck to Lucy (and her fur-parents who are probably super worried) I’m sure it’ll be fine!!

    Wheatberries make excellent additions to oatmeal in the morning…

    Reply
  2. Goodluck Lucy. I will say a prayer for you and your parents. Kathy

    Reply
  3. Good luck tomorrow, Lucy!

    Brent doesn’t know what he’s talking about. Wheatberries are AWESOME! And that salad from VCON is fantastic. Yum!

    Reply
  4. I agree with you, getting back in after a break can be tricky. I’m more having the problem of loss of momentum. I posted sooo much in the past couple of weeks that now I’m feeling burnt out.

    Reply
  5. I feel the same way about catching up! Every once in a whole I put up a post that’s just filled with randomness because I have so much that doesn’t fit anywhere else.

    I just got some wheat berries and am looking for something fun to do with them. Your salad looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

