RSS Feed

Colorado 2010: The Food

We ate so much good food on our vacation! It’s really a shame that I didn’t manage to photograph a lot of it. We stayed with my brother-in-law, but his kitchen was a bit tiny, and his cooking supplies a bit limited, so we did not end up doing a lot of our own cooking. That was fine with me because there were so many fun places to eat that I wanted to try!

H Burger Co.

Tuesday we spent the afternoon helping my brother-in-law buy a car, and decided he could buy us dinner as a thank you. Aren’t we nice? We went to H Burger Co. for dinner. We read good things on Yelp, and it’s hard to go wrong with a burger and fries. I started with a Kentucky Sweet Tea, which was made with Jim Beam, peach schnapps, iced tea, simple syrup and muddled lemon. It was delicious, but I may have been a bit dehydrated because I downed it like it was water.

For my dinner, I ordered:

The Eden Burger (Veggie) Special blend of squash and beans, bound with egg and grilled on the flat top, topped with sweet and spicy bok choy, red peppers and H|Greens

Alongside, I ordered the truffle Parmesan fries.

Sorry for the horrid photo – the light was horrid. This was one of the best veggie burgers I’ve had. It was well thought out, and I loved the veggies on top! I’d highly recommend this. The truffle fries, however, not so much. I hate limp, soggy fries (which these were), there was no truffle flavor, and the Parmesan was just a clump at the top. Blah. Total disappointment.

Euclid Hall

Wednesday after spending all day exploring Denver on foot, we were ready for food! We went to Euclid Hall for an early-ish dinner to take advantage of their happy hour. I’m a firm believer that whenever you go to a place that claims to be known for something, you ought to try it. Euclid Hall really seemed to be pushing their housemade sausages, pickles and mustards. Brent, Jon (Bro-in-law), and I decided to try all of the above by ordering “The Works” – which contained each of their four housemade sausages, a sample of all of their pickles, and all four mustards.

In the photo above, you see the four sausages, pretzel bread, the mustards in the upper part, and the Hanger Steak Poutine in the upper right corner. I tried each of the sausages, except the blood sausage. Couldn’t do it. The PBR bratwurst was decent, but the rest were whatever. The pretzel bread was cold and flavorless. The poutine was super savory and delicious. I really put a smackdown on that. It’s too bad I don’t have a better photo, but I think I ought to recreate it for some football watching at some point. I really liked the mustards, especially the whole grain bordeaux one. I love grainy mustard.

Above is the pickle sampler. Brent (obviously) dominated this. I will say Brent gave me a “garlic” pickle, and it felt like someone punched me in the face. The SPICE! He later realized that he gave me the hot, spicy pickle. Ah! The pickles were good though. I was impressed with those.

I was craving some roughage, so I also ordered the rocket salad (it may have also had something to do with the fried Camembert cheese). The candied lemon vinaigrette on this thing was awesome. This salad was probably one of my top 3 food items from our trip. Loved it!

Overall I recommend Euclid Hall, even moreso if you’re a sausage person. They had a lot of options. Their beer list is great, and their service was wonderful too!

Oskar Blues Grill & Brew

Thursday during our long hike mentioned in the previous post, I was so looking forward to beer and food afterward! We passed Oskar Blues on our drive into the park, and I figured we could stop there after our hike. We had plans for a lot more eating and drinking later that evening, so we just chose to split something to share. We ordered to the nachos.

Total nacho domination occurred in a matter of minutes. Obviously anything would have tasted delicious after exerting that much energy, but these were really good. What’s hilarious is that Brent (who loves all spicy food and eats Habanero sauce by the spoonful), nearly died from the hotness of the jalapeno. He was gasping and chugging water and beer. I obviously picked them off after seeing his reaction. 😉

Snooze

Saturday morning, (after a night of beer festivaling) we thought we’d be ready for a greasy, delicious breakfast. However, you definitely do not need to be hungover to go to Snooze. This place was out of control amazing. I wanted the entire menu, but I was forced to order just one thing. I was dying to try pancakes, but I thought the Backyard BBQ Benedict sounded too good to pass up.

Backyard BBQ Benny Our housemade corn bread topped with slow-cooked Niman RanchBBQ Beef, poached eggs, smoked cheddar hollandaise and diced pickles.

This picture is in no way doing it justice. That cornbread was my heaven. And the pickles were small but necessary. I just loved every scrumptious bite. This is actually the first time I’ve ever eaten eggs benedict. I have a fear of runny yolks, which I’m trying to conquer. Brent ordered a smoked salmon hash, which he enjoyed, but I clearly got the winning dish here.

Jon’s Kitchen

Really the only cooking I did last week was cooking these blueberry pancakes, which were pretty delicious. I have no idea what recipe I used. I googled “pancakes  for one” and used whatever came up I think.

Other Mentions

I may not have pictures, but I wanted to mention a few other places we ate:

  • Freshcraft: this place was so nice, we went there twice. Once was lunch on Wedensday, and I had the Croque Monsieur with fries. Both were outstanding. Loved every single bite. We also went there for dinner on Thursday. I know, but we were starving and couldn’t think of anything else. For dinner I had the Hand Cut Flat Iron steak served au poirve. Meh. My dinner experience was less stellar. My food came out cold, and it just wasn’t my thing. I also had a bite of Brent’s Cassoulet. Super rich, but very delicious. Overall, I’d recommend Freshcraft for beer (love their list!) and the small plates and snacks, but maybe not for a full dinner.
  • Duffy’s Cherry Cricket: Featured on Man vs. Food! That’s the main reason I wanted to go. We went for lunch on Saturday, and even at 2pm, the wait was a half hour. Brent, Jon and I split the Frings (onions rings and fries), and we each ordered our respective masterpieces. I ordered the “Little Cricket Burger” with avocado, bacon and smoked cheddar. I need to put smoked cheddar on every burger I ever eat. It was so good. I think they skimped on the ‘cado,  but other than that I have no complaints. Brent tried to be a rockstar and got the regular cricket burger – 1/2 pound! Yikes! He ordered it with cream cheese and jalapeno because it is their most popular combination. He enjoyed it, but decided later he should not have eaten that much meat.
  • Bistro Vendôme: This was our farewell dinner on Saturday night, and I loved every bite. I so wish I had pictures to share. And I wish this place was closer to me! I ordered to mussels and a side of frites. The mussels were in a broth of white wine, garlic, herbs and cream. Heaven in a bowl. I loved this, and Brent was sad he couldn’t drink the broth. I really need to make this at home. The frites were different than any I have ever had. They were drizzled with an herby, sugary syrup. Sounds bizarre, but I really loved it. They came with garlic aioli for dipping and I was all about it. The herbs, sugar, and garlic totally worked.

This post was a lot longer than I thought, so I’m wrapping up now. Beer still to come!

2 responses »

  1. Yum! Sounds like you did a number on the dining out options 🙂

    Reply
  2. Wow, this is an awesome post! That veggie burger look fab, though soggy fries are legit my worst nightmare. And seriously, I would pay big money for that BBQ Benny concoction. OMG amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

