RSS Feed

Green Pizza

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner was definitely not original, but we enjoyed it nonetheless. It’s the return of the Kale Ricotta Pizza but with a pesto twist. The base of the pizza was plain old delicious master recipe from Artisan Bread. After shaping, I spread a mixture of ricotta (about 1/2 cup) cheese and basil pesto (about 2-3T). Next, I sauteed the kale along with some garlic in a bit of olive oil and added that I top of the cheese. I also sprinkled some sliced scallions and pine nuts on the pizza for fun. No pizza in my house would be complete without melted cheese, so I topped with a mix of mozzarella and Parmesan.

I baked for 15 minutes at 450, and while the oven was doing its thing, I threw together a salad of artisan lettuce, carrots, cuke, red bell pepper, homemade balsamic vinaigrette and a sprinkle of more Parm.

The pizza looked pretty amazing straight out of the oven, but I let it cool on a wire rack for a few minutes to keep the crust crisp.

Pizza is such a delicious way to get your greens in! Dinner is served:

For the next few weeks, school is going to be significantly less demanding, which is so amazing! I’m taking advantage by spending time with friends and family. I spent this past weekend in Chicago for a family party, and on Friday I’m heading to DC for the weekend with my college friends! You know we love Halloween, so we always seem to find a way to be together for the holiday. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses »

  1. That pizza looks gorgeous. One of the downsides of having a blog is that I never seem to repeat anything because it wouldn’t be “blog worthy.” In some instances it’s good because I try more recipes, but it does also mean that my favorites don’t reappear very often.

    Reply
  2. Now I’m totally craving pizza!! My bf hates when I cook something he really enjoys but won’t make it again because I can’t blog about it ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m starting to get better about re-cooking winners, though ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

