RSS Feed

Cinnamon Rolls are Brain Food

Every Monday a few of us nursing students get together for a study group. We’ve been doing it for over a year now. I have been meaning to make a a treat for the group forever, but I always run out of time. A while time ago, Catherine mentioned she made sticky pecan caramel rolls using the brioche dough from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. Well, I meant to make the brioche dough several weeks ago, but so many things have come up that I never got around to it. I did, however, have the master recipe dough in my fridge and the authors mentioned using that dough to make their caramel rolls in the book. I figured with all the butter and sugar in the filling, the dough probably didn’t need a ton of sugar.

So I finally made our group a treat: cinnamon rolls! I used the regular ol’ master recipe and rolled a grapefruit sized hunk into a rectangle about 1/8-1/4″ thick. Then I beat together 1/2 cup of softened butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1T cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. I spread the butter mixture evenly over the rectangle and sprinkled with raisins. Oh, and to facilitate roll the dough out and then rolling it back up, I sprayed my table with cooking spray.

Next step was to roll it up into a swirled log and then slice the log into 8 sections so you can see the swirls!

I arranged the rolls into a 9″ cake pan. I wasn’t too worried about making sure they were super evenly spaced. I put them into a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes. While the rolls were baking, I made a glaze to put on top by whisking together 2T milk, a pinch of cinnamon and 2 cups of powdered sugar.

At this point, I realized I was running late for study group, so after letting the rolls cool for 5 minutes, I drizzled a generous amount of glaze on them and ran out the door. I didn’t get a great picture of the finished product, but our study group managed to put quite a dent in them:

These were delicious. I can only imagine how much richer they would be with the brioche, but they had plenty of butter and sugar for me. My friends were very appreciative, and I was happy to have people to share the sugar with! I want to make these for my mom on Christmas morning or something. I think she would love them!

Funny story: One reason Brent and I are so excited about moving to Seattle is that snow is much less common there. Brent is in Seattle right now and it’s 28 degrees and snowing there! Meanwhile, I’m enjoying a 65 degree day in Fort Wayne. Ha!

2 responses »

  1. Brioche definitely takes any cinnamon or caramel roll over the edge, but they become very, very rich. The base of the sticky buns I make is brioche and while they are fantastic, I have yet to know anyone who can eat more than half.

    Reply
  2. The caramel pecan sticky rolls that I made with the brioche dough were kind of ridiculous . . . like . . . melt-in-your-mouth from so much butter ridiculous! But boy, was that a fun treat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

