RSS Feed

Stuffed Peppers with Millet

Posted on

I cooked last week! I even have photos to prove it.

I made Emily’s curried stuffed peppers, which turned out really well. It was actually our first time eating millet, and I was pleasantly surprised with how much Brent liked it. He’s not huge on most of the “weird grains” I bring home, but this was a winner. It was super quick and easy to make. I actually made the mix and stuffed the peppers earlier in the day and then just baked them when we wanted dinner.

I really liked the raisins in this and I actually wish I had added more! I may make this again, given that Brent enjoyed it and I have more millet to use. I actually have a whole bookcase (which I use as a second pantry) full of grains and dried beans to use before we leave! Feel free to suggest uses for: wheat berries, brown rice, quinoa, wild rice, kidney beans, chickpeas and lentils.

Life Updates

Well, you can definitely continue to expect a lack of posting. We’re moving in 3 weeks! We leave from Chicago Monday December 27th after spending the holidays with our families, and I can’t believe how close it’s getting. We’re doing something crazy – Driving!! It’ll be me, Brent, Larry, Lucy, my beloved cooking tools, and some clothes. And that’s it. We’re not moving our furniture, knick-knacks, TV, etc…  The way our relocation is structured is that we could have his company pay to move all of our possessions across the country, OR they’ll just give us a lump sum. We’ve discussed getting a new bed, and a new couch because our current one is a huge sectional that was purchased for a 2200 square foot home, not a city apartment, so we just decided to take the lump sum and use it as an opportunity to simplify. It’s going to be a 3 day drive, but luckily we’ve already found and leased an apartment, so once we arrive we’ll be “home.”

A week from tomorrow is also my last day of nursing school! I cannot express how truly excited I am, not only to be done with school and all that goes along with that, but to be a nurse! I really can’t wait to take boards and start working. I’m so thankful that I had the opportunity to go back to school and go into a profession that I really love. 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I have a great recipe somewhere featuring millet-stuffed portobello mushroom caps — I’ll email you if you’re interested!

    Let’s see . . . I’ve made a great wheatberry salad with edamame and black beans, kidney beans scream “chili!” to me, and I enjoy making cream of wild rice soup (I think I have a “light” recipe somewhere) a couple of times per winter!

    Reply
    • I’ve never made cream of wild rice soup, but that sounds good to me. Send me a link if you can. Oh, and I have edamame in my freezer, so that wheat berry salad sounds good too!

      Reply
  2. Congrats on the move. I just bought a bag of millet and have been curious about how to use it so your post is perfect timing. I love that you took this as a chance to simplify. I received a lump sum and used it to move my stuff, but it’s fun to hear of someone who is taking a different approach.

    Reply
  3. Wow, congrats on the move and becoming a nurse!! So exciting 🙂

    And these peppers look fabulous 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

