RSS Feed

The Idle Loaf, Graduate Nurse

Holy crap! I finally graduated! I am so grateful to be done. It feels like it has been such a long time coming. When I graduated with my B.A. in 2005, I knew I wouldn’t “use” my degree. I had majored in Political Science and had originally planned on going to law school. I basically decided my last semester of school not to do that. After getting a generic entry-level job and working for a while, I started discussing my plans for more school with Brent. He was generally supportive, but I wasn’t sure exactly what I was going to go back for though.

My second job out of school was working at a dermatologist’s office in LA, and I loved it!I only worked there for 3 shorts months before Brent and I moved to Fort Wayne, but I had decided by then that I wanted to work in the medical field. After starting to work for the MDA in the Fort, I started taking pre-reqs for the nursing program at our local college in 2007. After one semester of that, I decided I wanted to be a dietitian instead, so I took a pre-req for that in early 2008. Then, I shifted my attention back to nursing after deciding it was a more versatile field and I would get more patient care.

I started my program in August 2009, and I can definitely say I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I feel quite sure that I did not full understand what nurses did all day, and I had some vague notion that I just wanted to “help people.” After 16 intense months of school and clinicals, I have never been so glad that I chose nursing. I think it’s hard, it can be dirty, and people can be ungrateful, but I feel so privileged to be able to ease a family’s fears, explain a confusing diagnosis, give great news, or hold a hand when comfort is needed.

I’m almost there! I’m now a graduate nurse (GN), and after I take my boards, hopefully in January, I’ll be an RN. I can’t wait!

6 responses »

  1. Congratulations, Victoria! I’m so proud of you. Another great “I changed my life” success story! That’s awesome and inspirational!

    Reply
  2. Congrats. It’s always interesting to hear how people choose their field. Thanks for sharing the journey with us and good luck on the boards.

    Reply
  3. Again so proud of you Vicki. You have come a long way from the 15 year old girl I first met. I treasure your friendship and will miss you when you are in Seattle. However, I know you will come home off and on. Kathy

    Reply
  4. Congratulations, Victoria! So proud of you! Must feel good to have all of that hard work DONE!

    Reply
  5. Maybe she’s too modest to post this, but she also graduated with a 4.0. Congratulations, honey.

    Reply
  6. Sooo excited for you and you should shout from the mountains about that 4.0 girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

