RSS Feed

From Fort Wayne to Seattle

We’ve made it! The past two weeks have been a whirlwind! We moved out of our place in Fort Wayne on Thursday, Dec. 23rd.

We left with Larry, Lucy, and the trunk of our Jetta stuffed to the brim. It felt so strange to donate and sell nearly everything we own. It was a good lesson in making myself realize what is really necessary in my life.

We spent Christmas Eve with Brent’s family, and then traveled the 4+ hours Christmas afternoon to my parents’ house. My mom threw us a going away (and my graduation) party on Sunday, Dec. 26th, and on Monday the 27th, we woke up at 3:30am and hit the road!

All together from Chicago to Seattle we spent 32 hours driving. We had very few stops because we packed a cooler full of peanut butter, jam, bred, hummus and veggies to sustain us. We expected to spend 3 days driving, but on Monday I was pumped to get on the road and get this road trip done. That, combined with exceptionally perfect weather, led us to drive 21 hours on Monday. We stopped and slept for 5 hours and carried on again on Tuesday. After another 11 hours of drive time, we finally arrived!!

I love Seattle. I love our new place. I love the mountains. I love the water. I love the FOOD. I am just so excited to be here! Our new apartment is a total mess right now, but a photo tour is on the way, I promise. In the meantime, here are the views from our balcony.

This park is super close to us and along the water, and I foresee Larry and I taking a ton of walks there.

That’s all for now, but I have so much to write about, including some Thai food Brent can’t stop talking about, and a sandwich courtesy of Mario Batali’s father. I can’t wait to share my explorations of our new city with you!

2 responses »

  1. I am so happy for you and Brent. Your view from the apt is fantastic. I wish only good things for both of you in 2011

    Reply
  2. Lucky you guys, getting to start the year off in your new place! I’m glad the move went without incident, and you’re getting settled in. Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

