RSS Feed

Larry’s Day Out

The weather has been absolutely gorgeous since we arrived. A bit chilly yes, but absolutely clear and sunny. We know that this is the exception rather than the rule for Seattle winters, so we’re trying to take advantage of it. Larry is an active dog, and he’s pretty used to very long walks and running around in a backyard. I don’t want to deprive him of that, so I’ve been on the lookout for a great long walk route for the two of us.

I look out my window and I see a green park with a walking path running through it, but there are also train tracks in front of it, so I wasn’t sure how to get to it. Well, I finally found the answer. Olympic Sculpture Park which is free and open to the public is a five minute walk from our building and if you walk through the park, the path connects you to Myrtle Edwards Park, which is the park I see from my apartment. There is this gorgeous running, walking, and biking path a few minutes from my front door!

Brent and I took Larry on an hour and a half walk through both parks this afternoon, and judging by the way he’s passed out on our living room floor right now, I’d say he got enough activity in for the day. Here are the photos from our walk.

Brent and Larry walking through OSP

OSP: Bunyon's Chess, 1965 Mark di Suvero

OSP: Eagle, 1971 Alexander Calder

Heading down the path connecting OSP to Myrtle Edwards

The perfect running/walking path

A pocket beach along the Myrtle Edwards Park path

 

I feel so grateful to live in such a beautiful place

Larry, living the dream

View of our building from the park

View of downtown from the park

Port of Seattle

We ended up walking up the path past the port and back home through OSP, covering about 4 miles total. To have a gorgeous place so close is wonderful. I was having a real “I can’t believe I live here!” moment as we were walking. I can’t wait to go for some runs along the water too! I’m pretty sure this park is going to be a regular in Larry’s walk rotation. Oh, and it’s not that I love Larry more than Lucy, but she has a bad hip and can’t walk very far without majorly limping, while Larry needs a ton of exercise.

We’ve got no real plans for tonight, other than to relax and veg out. I hope you all have a happy and healthy start to the New Year! See you in 2011!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Wild Mushroom Risotto « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

