RSS Feed

Smoked Salmon Crostini

Posted on

Hopefully everyone rang in the new year in a safe and awesome way. Brent and I made some snacks, hung out at home, and went to our roof to watch fireworks from the space needle at midnight.

It was pretty sweet that we had this awesome view and didn’t even have to leave our building! Before all that though, we ate. I wanted to stay in and make something, but I wasn’t feeling up for full-fledged “cooking” because my kitchen isn’t quite set up yet. We headed to the market earlier in the day and picked up some crusty bread and locally smoked salmon — which I am currently obsessed with!

I sliced the bread thinly , drizzled with olive oil, salt and pepper, and then grilled in a grill pan until lightly golden and toasty, flipped and did the same for the other side. Next I spread a thin layer of goat cheese on each slice, topped it with a generous dose of the smoked salmon, and sprinkled with diced red onions and capers.

These were pretty fantastic. Like, seriously so good that I made them again tonight. This is the perfect bite of food. I love the tangy-ness of the goat cheese combined with the smoky salmon and the salty bite from the capers. I cannot recommend this combo enough. Plus, it felt so good to make something at home after so much eating out in the past few weeks. I’m really enjoying getting settled in and looking forward to getting into a routine.

To end the post, I’d like to leave you with another gorgeous shot from our balcony – taken tonight around sunset.

Leave a Reply

