RSS Feed

Smoked Salmon & Sweet Potato Hash

Posted on

Today was the first day we had nothing real planned. No errands to run or shopping to do. I remarked to Brent last night that we still had some of that amazing smoked salmon leftover and that we should make a breakfast with it. Apparently Brent took that to mean that he should make breakfast, (which is sort of true because he makes most weekend breakfasts around here), so he did the grunt work this morning.

We also had a pile of sweet potatoes and half a red onion, oh and some delicious aged gouda. He parboiled the potatoes and then browned them in a skillet with the onion. He threw in some salmon, cheese, and scrambled eggs and breakfast was done.

Pretty good-looking breakfast, huh? This is why Brent does breakfast. He is much better at it than I am. After a hearty meal, I was feeling a bit restless (plus we have no couch, and thus vegging out at home is less appealing), so I persuaded Brent to practice using the bus with me (I’m trying to familiarize myself with it) and head to the year-round farmers’ market in Ballard. We caught the bus 2 blocks from our apartment and 15 minutes later we were dropped off 2 blocks from the market.

I was impressed with the selection, though it was too bad I was kind of over smoked salmon by this point becasue I felt like half the vendors at the market were selling it. I love that everything at the market is produced in Washington.

After doing a lap to assess what I wanted to get, I went back to a few vendors and got my haul:

    • foraged chanterelle mushrooms
    • organic smoked ham hock – I’ve been craving some split pea soup
    • organic kale
    • organic fingerling potatoes
    • organic turnip
    • 2 organic leeks
    • organic cylinder beets
    • 1lb. brussel sprouts

    I also felt compelled to purchase some mini cinnamon-sugar donuts being made by one of the vendors because the smell was intoxicating.

    After walking around Ballard a bit more and stopping to get a cappuccino to warm up, we hopped the bus back to our neighborhood (lower Queen Anne) and went across the street to a pub to watch some football: the Chicago Bears for her, and the Indianapolis Colts for him

    I love that there are several year-round markets in Seattle and the bus is so convenient. Love it. I like to tell Brent that I’m “living the dream,” and in return he usually likes to mock me. 🙂 I definitely think I’ll be back to the Ballard market, but there are a few other weekend ones I want to check out as well.

    10 responses »

    1. I’m so jealous you can get local produce year-round! There’s NOTHING available here right now! 😦

      Reply
    2. I love hash! It’s one of my favorite things. Yours looks delicious — I love the addition of smoked salmon.

      Reply
    3. You guys are adorable. It sounds like it is the pefect city for you. I’ve always wanted to spend more time there. So far I’ve only been for work. Your breakfast sounds delicious though. Smoked Salmon and sweet potatoes sound like a perfect match.

      Reply
    4. culinaryabsurdity

      Love the breakfast – and those market pictures are great!

      Reply
    5. Great pictures and I really love this dish. Very nice

      Reply
    6. Just found this post on foodpress and had to comment. I did a whole post on my blog about the Ballard Farmers Market and how much I love it a few months back….Good to see it’s getting more face time.

      Reply
    7. Glad to see the olive glasses made the cut. ; )

      Reply
    8. Pingback: Wild Mushroom Risotto « The Idle Loaf

    9. The salmon and sweet potato hash looks delicious! I would have never thought to mix sweet potatoes with fish, so I will have to give this a try.

      Reply
    10. I’ve done salmon hash, but never with sweet potatoes. Sounds really yummy!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

