RSS Feed

Breakfast Happy Hour at Toulouse Petit

Posted on

Today is Brent’s last day off before starting work at his new job, so we wanted to spend the day together doing something fun. One idea that we had floating around was taking advantage of the Breakfast Happy Hour at Toulouse Petit, which is only a few blocks from our apartment. From 9-11am every week day, every item on their breakfast menu (there are a few exceptions) is $6. I was excited to check it out, and Brent was too, given his new found love of brunch.

We made the short walk over to the restaurant and arrived shortly after 9. There were a few tables with patrons, but it didn’t seem very busy. Within 20 minutes, the place had become packed, so it’s clearly very popular. Toulouse won my heart immediately because they serve French press coffee, which I’ve gotten quite accustomed to.

Delish! I ordered the Dungeness crab eggs benedict, but they were out of crab. I was a bit bummed, but still had my heart set on a benedict, so I ordered the benedict with Snake River Farms Kurobota ham.

This was so good. I was initially concerned because upon breaking into my first egg, the yolk wasn’t dippy and had been cooked a little too long, but the other egg was perfect and so was the rest of the dish. The Cajun breakfast potatoes were wonderful, super crispy and flavorful, which was impressive to me because normally I feel most breakfast potatoes are just afterthoughts and not that great.

Brent got the Cured Pork Cheeks Confit Hash, which the menu proudly boasted was featured on The Best Thing I Ever Ate.

Brent clearly loved his dish too and cleaned his plate. I had a few bites of his, and I have to agree it was super flavorful and delicious. Overall, we both thought the breakfast happy hour was the best value breakfast we’ve had in recent memory. The breakfast was definitely rich, but it was so worth it. The total for our meal with tax and tip was under $25, which felt like such a steal. We’re going to make an effort to go back some time, which is possible thanks to Brent’s flexible work schedule.

Starting tomorrow, I’m on my own with the dogs and the sun is supposed to be gone as well for the rest of the week. I’m hoping to keep myself busy taking some long exploratory walks with Larry and studying for boards. πŸ™‚

3 responses »

  1. That ham benedict looks mighty tasty! And why is it that coffee always looks better when it’s in a french press?

    Reply
  2. Breakfast happy hour is such a good idea!! Boston really needs to get on that considering we don’t have “real” happy hour here (at least not with alcohol). And eggs benedict is one of my favorite dishes ever! I do loe it with crab, too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Playing Tourist in Seattle « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

