RSS Feed

Sunday Roast Chicken Dinner

Posted on

I was pretty excited when I checked the sales at my neighborhood market and saw organic whole chicken on sale. We don’t purchase much meat, so I usually feel OK spending more for higher quality, organic options. I also prefer to get more bang for my buck by purchasing a whole chicken, which is usually cheaper and provides Brent and I with several meals.

I stuffed this chicken with a halved lemon, a bunch of thyme, and some crushed garlic cloves. I coated the outside with about a tablespoon of oil and seasoned it liberally with kosher salt and cracked black pepper, and then put it in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour. After one hour, I took the pan out of the oven, added chopped sweet potato and acorn squash and then roasted for another 30 minutes until done.

We let the chicken rest for 10 or 15 minutes while Brent made gravy – dude loves him some gravy – and I sliced some Artisan Bread and broiled it with butter and rubbed it with garlic. I love me some garlic bread. This meal was super filling and delish, and we have a ton leftover for lunches this week.

I know I was complaining yesterday about how lonely I get occasionally, which is true, so I decided to turn all my spare time into something fun. I’m going to be trying new food projects. Would you believe I’ve never made a quiche? I’m planning on making one tonight. Oh, and I think I might try bouillabaisse some time this week too! I need to come up with a fun list of things to try while I’ve got the time. I’m thinking about trying to make my own pasta too. I’ve never done that either. Do you guys have any ideas?

4 responses »

  1. I am a huge quiche fan.. making mine tomorrow for the week πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Oooo . . . I don’t care for quiche, but I don’t really like eggs very much, so I bet that’s why! πŸ™‚

    How about tamales? Sushi? Eclairs? Tagine? Paella? Samosas from scratch? Boeuf Bourgnion? (I’m sure I didn’t spell that correctly!)

    I helped a friend make homemade pasta once — you kind of need three hands. (One to feed, one to catch, one to turn the crank.) πŸ™‚ Just an FYI!

    Reply
  3. Ooh yay for fun food projects. I’d definitely add making your own bacon to the list. It is not hard at all (I have some curing as we speak) and the results are so satisfying.

    I hear you on the loneliness too. Besides cooking projects I’d recommend meetup.com as a fun avenue to meet people. I’ve met a lot of great girls through their various groups.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

