RSS Feed

Broccoli Quiche

Posted on

I like baking and making pastry dough, and I’ve made a ton of frittatas, so I’m not sure why I’ve never attempted a quiche before. Eggs for dinner are always an easy option for me, so quiche seemed like a perfect dish to try with my new-found free time.

I actually thought it would be pretty simple to make, and while it wasn’t overly difficult, the pastry dough definitely gave me a bit of a hard time. Our apartment runs really warm – it’s 72 degrees in here and our heater is not on right now! – so I think that warmth made it difficult for me to keep the dough as chilled as necessary, but I made it work!

Pastry Dough for one 11″ Quiche:

  • 1 3/4 c. AP flour
  • 1.5 sticks of butter (3/4 c.), cold & diced
  • 1/2 t. kosher salt
  • 1/4 c. ice cold water
  1. Whisk together flour and salt.
  2. Using pastry cutter or stand mixer, cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse sand (a few lumps are fine).
  3. Slowly stir in water a tablespoon at a time, just until dough comes together in a ball.
  4. Push dough together with your hands into a ball and flatten into a disc about 1″ thick.
  5. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least an hour (making it the day before is super easy).

After chilling for a few hours, I was ready to get the quiche together. I wanted something simple, so I just bought a head of broccoli and decided to use the chunk of leftover aged Gruyere in my fridge.

Broccoli Quiche:

  • I recipe of pastry dough above
  • 2-3 c. chopped broccoli
  • 6 eggs
  • 1.5 c. half & half
  • 1/4 t. cracked black pepper
  • 1/2 t. kosher salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 c. shredded Gruyere (that’s just what I had, but I think most types of cheese go with broccoli)
  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Roll out pastry dough to a 13″ diameter.
  3. Carefully arrange dough in a quiche/tart pan.
  4. Poke holes in dough with a fork.
  5. Using pie weights, dried beans, or a oven-safe pot lid (like me), weight down the bottom of the dough and bake for 20 minutes.
  6. Remove weight and bake for 15 more minutes.
  7. Meanwhile…
  8. Cook broccoli in boiling water for 4 minutes.
  9. Drain broccoli and blanch in cold water.
  10. Whisk (I actually just threw it all in the blender) together eggs, half & half, salt, pepper, and garlic.
  11. Poor egg mixture into the pre-baked pastry shell.
  12. Drop broccoli on top of the egg mixture.
  13. Sprinkle cheese liberally all over the top!
  14. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes – If the mixture still seems a bit shaky it will firm up.
  15. Cool for at least 30 minutes.
  16. Eat warm, cold or at room temp. πŸ™‚

I served the quiche alongside Brent’s favorite side dish – roasted cauliflower. Whenever I give him a choice of veggie sides, he always picks roasted cauliflower.

I thought this turned out really well! Brent kept commenting on how good the cauliflower was, but he ate two pieces of the quiche, so I think he liked that too. πŸ™‚ I also ate another piece for breakfast this morning – just heated it for 10 minutes in a 350 degree oven – and that was equally delicious! I’ll have to think of more flavor combos to make.

snOMG! It’s snowing here! This would not have been newsworthy in our prior life in Indiana, but here it’s kind of a big deal. It obviously doesn’t affect me since I have no place to go, but Brent has to get to work tomorrow and any ice makes these hills impossibly difficult to travel on. We’ll have to see what happens over night!

5 responses »

  1. Now I know I said earlier that I don’t like quiche, but that looks amazing! πŸ™‚

    Hope Brent made it to work in one piece today!

    Reply
  2. I love a good quiche. Paired with a simple salad of local greens it feels like a very Parisian and refined dinner.

    Reply
  3. My favorite quiche these days is morning star sausage crumbles, spinach, feta, mushrooms..

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Winter Root Vegetable Tart « The Idle Loaf

  5. Pingback: Perfectly Imperfect Quiche Lorraine | The Idle Loaf Perfectly Imperfect Quiche Lorraine | Just another girl who kneads bread

Leave a Reply

